Cosmic Eclipse FAQ are here!

Professors and players, here are the FAQs for the new Cosmic Eclipse set.

We have them as a PDF (the link is at the end, and posted here for your convenience. It’s a big set, so there are a lot of questions.
Enjoy!

SM: Cosmic Eclipse – FAQ

 POKEMON ABILITIES:

== BLINKING LIGHTS (Lanturn – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. Using Lanturn’s “Blinking Lights” Ability, may I repeatedly look at the top card of my opponent’s deck, even if the deck has not changed?
A. Yes, as long as it does not waste time or interfere with your opponent’s play. [Note that doing it to manipulate or waste time in the match can be penalized.]

== BLOW-AWAY BOMB (Koffing – SM:Cosmic Eclipse; Weezing – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. When I use Roxie to discard two Pokemon that each have the “Blow-Away Bomb” Ability, do those abilities stack so I can place two damage counters on each of my opponent’s Pokemon?
A. Yes, each of the Pokemon gets to use their own “Blow-Away Bomb” Ability when discarded by Roxie.

== DANCE OF TRIBUTE (Oricorio GX – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. If my Lillie’s Poke Doll was Knocked Out by my opponent, can I use Oricorio GX’s “Dance of Tribute” Ability?
A. Yes, even though they didn’t take a prize, Lillie’s Poke Doll was still considered a Knock Out of one of your Pokemon.

== FLOWER PICKING (Florges – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. With Florges’ “Flower Picking” Ability, can I use it when my opponent only has one card in their hand? Or can I use it to shuffle in only one card instead of two if my opponent has two or more cards?
A. If the opponent only has one card in their hand you do as much as you can, so they reveal & shuffle in the one card. But if your opponent has two or more cards in their hand you must choose two of them, not just one.

== SCATTER (Wishiwashi – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. For Wishiwashi’s “Scatter” Ability, when does this check for damage counters happen, before “in between turns” when Poison counters are placed or afterward?
A. After your opponent concludes their end of turn actions including all effects of attack and cleaning up any KO, then before in between turns you check for any damage counters on Wishiwashi that would trigger Scatter to shuffle Wishiwashi and all cards attached into your deck.

POKEMON ATTACKS:

== ALTERED CREATION GX (Arceus & Dialga & Palkia GX – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. When I use Arceus & Dialga & Palkia GX’s “Altered Creation GX” attack do I take an extra Prize card only if I Knock Out that Active Pokemon with an attack, or do I take an extra Prize for ANY of my opponent’s Active Pokemon that get KO’d by my attacks during the rest of the game?
A. You get to take an extra prize if your Pokemon’s attack Knocks Out ANY of your opponent’s Active Pokemon during the rest of the game, not just the one that was the Defending Pokemon at the time of the Altered Creation GX attack.

== BRILLIANT FLARE (Charizard & Braixen GX – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. Do I have to take any cards from my deck if I use Charizard & Braixen GX’s “Brilliant Flare” attack?
A. It says “may”, so you can choose to not search your deck; but if you do search you must take at least one card from it.

== IMPERSONATION (Mimikyu – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. If I’m not allowed to play a Supporter card for some reason, can I still use Mimikyu’s “Impersonation” attack to use the effect of a Supporter?
A. Sure. You are not playing the Supporter, just using its effect.

Q. If I use Mimikyu’s “Impersonation” attack, do I get to use the “when you play this card” part of Tag Team Supporters or not?
A. Impersonation gets to use all effects of the card; you still do the entire part of the card even if you’re not “playing” it (but you still have to pay any required costs).

== MASSIVE CATCH (Wishiwashi GX – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. What happens if my bench is full when I use Wishiwashi GX’s “Massive Catch”? Can I put down more Pokemon than I would normally have space for on my bench?

A. Sorry, but no. You can’t put more Pokemon on your bench than you are allowed to.

== MIRROR SHOT (Magnemite – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. If my opponent used Magnemite’s “Mirror Shot” attack last turn, and I try to use my GX attack this turn and flip tails, do I lose the ability to use a GX attack for the rest of the game?

A. No, because since you flipped tails the attack “doesn’t happen”.

== RECALL (Empoleon – SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. For Empoleon’s “Recall” attack, do I need to meet the energy requirements for the attack chosen from the previous Evolution?
A. You do not need to meet the energy requirement from the previous Evolution’s attack, but if that attack requires you to do something with energy (like discarding an energy card) you must follow that attack’s instructions.

TRAINER CARDS:

== TRAINERS IN GENERAL

Q. Can you choose the order of effects when playing a Tag Team Supporter, or do you have to do them in the order stated on the card?
A. You must do them in the order stated on the card. However, you don’t have to meet the criteria for the first effect in order to do the second effect; for example, if the first effect says to search your deck but you don’t have any cards in your deck you can still do the second effect as long as you meet its criteria.

== BELLELBA & BRYCEN-MAN (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

* You can play Bellelba & Brycen-Man as long as there’s at least 1 card in either player’s deck. It can also be played by discarding 3 cards from your hand if at least 1 player has more than 3 Benched Pokemon. But if at least 1 player doesn’t have more than 3 Benched Pokemon, you cannot discard cards from your hand.

== CHAOTIC SWELL (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. If I try to play a Stadium card but it is discarded by the effect of Chaotic Swell stadium, can I play another one?
A. No, it was immediately discarded without effect, but you already played a Stadium card which can only be done once per turn.

== CYNTHIA & CAITLIN (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

* You can play Cynthia & Caitlin as long as there’s a Supporter card in your discard pile. You can also play it by discarding a card from your hand if there’s at least 1 card in your deck. But if you have no cards in your deck, you cannot discard a card from your hand.

== ERIKA (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. Can I play Erika if both I and my opponent decide not to draw any cards?
A. Yes, because it is not known by you or the game whether your opponent will draw cards or not.

== GUZMA & HALA (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

* You can do any part of Guzma & Hala as long as there’s at least 1 card in your deck.

Q. When I play Guzma & Hala, can I discard the Stadium I searched for as one of the 2 cards discarded to search for the Tool and Special Energy?
A. If you want to do the second effect you have to discard 2 cards “when you play this card”, that is before you search for the Stadium.

Q. When I play Guzma & Hala, after I search my deck for a Stadium, do I have to shuffle first if I’m also going to search for Special Energy and a Tool?
A. You can skip the shuffling after the Stadium search as long as you clearly tell your opponent you’re doing the second part of the card. So if you’re doing both parts you first discard two cards from your hand, then search for any Stadium you’re going to take, then search for the Tool and Special Energy, then shuffle your deck.

== ISLAND CHALLENGE AMULET (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. If I attach Island Challenge Amulet to a Pokemon-GX that has less than 100 HP left and it’s Knocked Out, does my opponent take only 1 prize?
A. No. You only get the reduction in Prize Cards taken if it is Knocked Out by damage from an opponent’s attack.

== LILLIE’s POKE DOLL (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. If my Lillie’s Poke Doll was Knocked Out by my opponent, can I use Oricorio GX’s “Dance of Tribute” Ability?
A. Yes, even though they didn’t take a prize, Lillie’s Poke Doll was still considered a Knock Out of one of your Pokemon.

== MALLOW & LANA (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

* You can play Mallow & Lana as long as you have a Benched Pokemon. But if your Active Pokemon is not damaged, you cannot discard 2 cards from your hand.

== MISTY & LORELEI (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

* You can play Misty & Lorelei for the base effect as long as there’s at least 1 card in your deck. You can always play it by discarding 5 cards from your hand.

Q. When I play Misty & Lorelei, can I discard one or more of the 3 {W} energy I searched for as part of the 5 cards discarded to get the re-use of my GX attack on this turn?
A. No. You have to discard 5 cards “when you play this card”. That is before you search for the {W} energy cards.

Q. Can I use the second part of Misty & Lorelei to discard 5 cards if I have not already used my GX attack for the game?
A. No, you cannot. If you haven’t used your GX attack yet, you can’t discard 5 cards from your hand.

== RED & BLUE (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

* You can do any part of Red & Blue as long as there’s a Pokemon in play that can evolve into a Pokemon-GX AND there’s at least 1 card in your deck.

== ROXIE (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. When I use Roxie to discard two Pokemon that each have the “Blow-Away Bomb” Ability, do those abilities stack so I can place two damage counters on each of my opponents Pokemon?
A. Yes, each of the Pokemon gets to use their own “Blow-Away Bomb” Ability when discarded by Roxie.

== UNIDENTIFIED FOSSIL (SM:Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. If an opponent KO’s my Unidentified Fossil do they get to take a prize?
A. Yes, that’s part of being treated as if it were a “Basic Pokemon”. Your opponent takes a prize when Unidentified Fossil is knocked out, but not if you discard it from play. (Feb 8, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)

== WILL (SM: Cosmic Eclipse)

Q. If my Pokémon is Confused, can I use the effect of Will to choose heads for the Special Condition?
A. No, that isn’t something that Will can affect.

Q. If my opponent used Magnemite’s “Mirror Shot” last turn, can I use the effect of Will to choose heads for the effect of the attack?
A. Yes, that is considered an effect of an attack, so that works.

FAQ-SM12 Cosmic Eclipse

SM: Unified Minds FAQs

Prereleases for the new Sun & Moon set Unified Minds start tomorrow night (for those doing a midnight event), so here are some FAQs for you.
If you have any questions that we didn’t think of for card combos within the set, let us know.
We plan on doing other combo questions for cards from outside the set, but if you want, ask about those as well so we make sure to cover them.

Enjoy!
FAQ – Unified Minds

SM: Unified Minds – FAQ

 POKÉMON ABILITIES:

== BURNING ROAD (Heatran GX – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  Does Heatran GX’s “Burning Road” Ability work if it becomes your Active Pokémon as a result of an attack like Archeops’ “U-turn”?
A.  As long as Heatran GX becomes your Active Pokémon during YOUR turn, it can use Burning Road.

== BURSTING SPORES (Amoonguss – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  If I evolve my Shroomish into Breloom (which has the Spore attack), can I use Amoonguss’s “Bursting Spores” Ability?
A.  Yes, because you have played a Pokémon that has the Spore attack from your hand during your turn.

== CAPTIVATING WINK (Mawile GX – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  Mawile GX’s “Captivating Wink” Ability says to put any number of Basic Pokémon you find in your opponent’s hand onto their Bench. Does this allow you to put more than 5 Pokémon on the bench?
A.  No, Captivating Wink does not allow you to exceed the normal limits of the game. You can put any number of Basic Pokémon onto your opponent’s Bench up to the maximum size of the Bench.

Q.  Can you use Mawile GX’s “Captivating Wink” Ability if your opponent’s Bench is full?
A.  No. It’s public knowledge that you can’t put down any additional Basic Pokémon on your opponent’s Bench, so you cannot play the card.

Q.  What happens if I use Steelix’s “Gigaton Shake” attack, and then my opponent uses Mawile GX’s “Captivating Wink” Ability during their turn? Would those Pokémon I put into play be able to attack on my next turn (since it was not during MY turn)?
A.  No, they would not be able to attack.

== DURABLE BLADE (Aegislash – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  If Aegislash with the “Durable Blade” Ability is Knocked Out by damage from my opponent’s attack, do I put its underlying Doublade and/or Honedge cards into my hand or into the Discard Pile?
A.  You put all the Pokémon in the evolution line into your hand. Any other cards attached such as Tools or Energy are discarded.

== SNACK SEARCH (Munchlax – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  If I try to use Munchlax’s “Snack Search” Ability and flip Tails, is my turn still over?
A.  Yes, it is. Even if you don’t flip Heads, the Ability is still considered “used”.

POKÉMON ATTACKS:

== CLEAR VISION GX (Latios GX – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  If my opponent has used Latios GX’s “Clear Vision GX” attack, can I use a GX attack that ignores effects?
A.  No, because you don’t even get to start using the GX attack.

Q.  If my opponent has used Latios GX’s “Clear Vision GX” attack, do I get to draw 7 cards if I use Hala?
A.  No, getting hit by Clear Vision GX doesn’t mean you have used your GX attack for the game.

== GG END GX (Garchomp & Giratina GX – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  Can I use Garchomp & Giratina GX’s “GG End GX” attack to remove all of my opponent’s Pokémon from play?
A.  Yes, if your opponent only has 1 (or 2, with the extra energy) in play, you could remove those Pokémon. Then you win the game!

== GIGATON SHAKE (Steelix – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  What happens if I use Steelix’s “Gigaton Shake” attack, and then my opponent uses Mawile GX’s “Captivating Wink” Ability during their turn? Would those Pokémon I put into play be able to attack on my next turn (since it was not during MY turn)?
A.  No, they would not be able to attack.

Q.  If I used Steelix’s “Gigaton Shake” on my previous turn, would Channeler allow my Pokémon to attack this turn?
A.  Yes, the effect of Gigaton Shake would be removed, and your Pokémon would be able to attack.

== INJECTION GX (Naganadel GX – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  When I use Naganadel GX’s “Injection GX” attack, am I allowed to mix up my opponent’s prize cards so they don’t know which card I added to their prizes?
A.  No, you may not. When Injection GX adds a card from the discard pile you must not disturb the placement of any prize cards the opponent still has in play.

Q.  If I use Naganadel GX’s “Injection GX” attack during a Tiebreaker game, do I win?
A.  Yes.

== SAGE’S RIDDLE (Oranguru – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  For Oranguru’s “Sage’s Riddle” attack, if I put down a Pokémon with more than one type does the opponent have to guess both of its types?
A.  No, they only have to guess one of the Pokémon’s types in order to get it right.

== SPIRIT BURNER (Chandelure – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  When using Chandelure’s “Spirit Burner” attack, can I place any discarded Stage 1 or Stage 2 Pokémon directly onto my bench?
A.  Yes, you can. However, because of the order of this attack, you cannot put a Prism Star card onto your Bench

== SPITEFUL SIGH (Froslass – SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  When using Froslass’ “Spiteful Sigh” attack, can you put more damage counters on Froslass than it has remaining HP?
A.  Yes, you can.

Q.  If I use Froslass’ “Spiteful Sigh” attack to put enough damage counters on Froslass to leave less than 40 HP on it, will its attack be prevented if Blizzard Town is in play?
A.  No, its remaining HP is checked for Blizzard Town before you place the damage counters onto Froslass.

TRAINER CARDS:

== BLAINE’S QUIZ SHOW (SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  Could I play Blaine’s Quiz Show and put down Munchlax which has no attack?
A.  No. You can only choose to put down a Pokémon that has an attack you can declare to your opponent.

== BLUE’S TACTICS (SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  Can I play Blue’s Tactics if I have more than 8 cards in my hand?
A.  Yes, because you could still have less than 8 cards in your hand by the end of your turn.

== CHANNELER (SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  If I used Steelix’s “Gigaton Shake” on my previous turn, would Channeler allow my Pokémon to attack this turn?
A.  Yes, the effect of Gigaton Shake would be removed, and your Pokémon would be able to attack.

== HAPU (SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  What happens if I play Hapu with less than 6 cards in my deck?
A.  You would put 2 cards (or 1 if you only have 1 card in your deck) in your hand and discard the rest.

ENERGY CARDS:

== RECYCLE ENERGY (Neo: Genesis Expansion; SM:Unified Minds)

Q.  Does Recycle Energy go back into your hand if it is discarded by your opponent’s Giratina’s “Dimension Breach” Ability?
A.  Yes it would.

Q.  Does “Recycle Energy” go back into your hand if you discard it as part of a retreat cost? Does it go back into your hand if it’s attached to a Pokémon that gets knocked out?
A.  Yes in both cases. But don’t be discarding it from your hand as part of an effect or Trainer cost and expect to get it back though. Also, if something sends Recycle Energy to the Lost Zone, you won’t get it back from there.

Pokemon Organized Play Updates – April 2019

Pokemon Organized Play released a flood of information and changes this week. Judges should make their way to the Rules and Resources page ( https://www.pokemon.com/us/play-pokemon/about/tournaments-rules-and-resources/ ) and read through all the files they have there, but just to give you a heads up and some guidance on what to look for as far as changes, here what’s up!

First off, let’s mention that the Standard Format rotation is going to happen earlier than usual! It will happen right before the World Championships this year, so Worlds will be in a different format than the rest of the tournament season. The sets rotated are not a surprise. They are the four first Sun & Moon sets along with Shining Legends. But the timing sure is a surprise.
Players are excited and anxious about this change because there were a number of cards that people didn’t like in the format, but the rotation means that a lot of staples are also going away.
Check here for more details: https://www.pokemon.com/us/pokemon-news/2020-season-pokemon-tcg-format-rotation/
Also worth noting is that there are no changes planned to the Banned Card list.

Almost all of the Rules documents have had changes of some sort.
We will summarize them here for you in italics and also point out their significance. Some of these changes are minor, but some of them are pretty major and have big impacts on how things are done!

General Event Rules

Section 7 –  Player Responsibilities: Players are not allowed to be under the influence of alcohol or other recreational drugs at events.
This is not so much a change as it is codifying what has already been enforced in the past. Pokemon is a family oriented game, and they take that seriously. Breaking this rule can and will result in expulsion from the event.
Section 7.4.1 – Appeals to the Head Judge: This section adds the information that players can and should raise issues and resolutions that they are unsatisfied with via the Customer Service Portal.
Again, this is not a change as much as putting in writing what players should have already been doing.
Section 11.1 – Match Outcome – Conceding a Match: Quoting from the document, “A concession here refers to any arrangement whereby one player offers to record the result of the match as a win for their opponent, or requests that the opponent do the same for them.”
This is a little difficult to parse. It seems to be referring to what has been called “Gentlemen’s Agreements” (See next Section below) in which case it is just outlining how things should have already been handled, but is just making it clear for judges that weren’t in the know about this. And that’s a good thing.
Section 11.2 – Informal Agreements –
Players may decide to concede or intentionally draw for any reason. However, Pokémon Organized Play does not recognize and will not enforce any informal agreements made between players regarding the outcome of a match prior to the signing of the match slip.
OK, so this section sets out the description in the rules of what has previously been called “Gentlemen’s Agreements”. This is a really good thing to get laid out in the rules documents to have players treated correctly across all events. One thing to watch out for here, though.
Where is says “for any reason”…. It can’t be random! Section 11.3 still exists and still forbids the use of ANY random means to decide a match.
Any means EXCEPT RANDOM!
Section 14 Penalties:A DQ in Single Elimination will apply Game Losses to most recent Match. Either the current Match or if between Matches to the previous Match.
TO THE PREVIOUS MATCH!!! This is a HUGE change and I haven’t seen anyone talking about it. If a player is DQ’d between rounds in Top Cut, their opponent from the previous round MOVES UP to the next round!!

TCG Rules & Formats

Only changes are to update sets listed to include those published since the last update.

VG Rules & Formats

Only changes are to update legal items for Pokemon to hold. Now includes all items that are legally available.

Equality, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusivity Policy

This actually came out in March, but I wanted to make sure players and Judges were aware of it. Please go to the site and read it. A summary won’t be sufficient. But here it is: Respect each other. And not the “Respect my Authority” kind of respect. Respect everyone’s Humanity.

Tournament Sanctioning Regulations

Section 4 –  Minimum Number of Players: The Minimum number of players needed to report for a sanctioned tournament is now 4.
The Minimum number of players needed is now 4!
The Minimum number of players needed is now 4!
The Minimum number of players needed is now 4!
The Minimum number of players needed is now 4!
Look, this is about as major a change as I have ever seen in how Pokemon runs tournaments. This is a HUGE change and should pretty much eliminate some local stores problems with getting League Challenges run in order to qualify for League Cups. Spread the word to those who have not seen or heard about these changes. This right here is a MAJOR CHANGE!
Note: You need to upgrade to TOM 1.53.0 or higher to take advantage of this new change!

Tournament Operation Procedures

Sections 3.1.4 and 3.3.6 –  Determining Final Placement: Dropping does not remove a player from the standings.
This is new and while it doesn’t have much impact on the winner of the event, it is a change that helps give a better tournament experience to those players that either didn’t do as well, or that have to leave the event early for personal reasons. In short, players can drop, either from Swiss or Single Elimination, and preserve what they were able to accomplish in the event. A player can drop near the end and not forfeit prizes. Or drop in Top Cut and not lose that Top Cup standing. It’s a nice change.
Here’s another application: You have 3 JRs playing in a Challenge in the same POD with 18 MRs. Those JRs would have had to play all 5 rounds in order to finish the tournament and get their prizing. Now, all 3 JRs can drop after Round 3 and preserve their standings and still get their Championship Points for the event. They are not forced to play 2 more Rounds against Masters. Pretty cool!

Section 3.1.4.1 –  Determining Tiebreakers: Pokemon has replaced the final, 5th tiebreaker. It had been Standing of Last Opponent. It is now “Random”.
Tiebreakers for standings, not Tiebreaker games.
OK, this seems like a major change, and in a way, it is. It is what allows OP to change the minimum number of players from 8 to 4 because it eliminates perfect ties that exist in small PODs. Honestly, if players were ties all the way down to this point through the other tiebreakers, then it really is random to decide which one is “better” than the other ones tied to this point.
And getting a minimum number of players of 4 is a pretty good trade off here.

Penalty Guidelines

No changes!

OK, so that’s in.
In summary:
Update TOM to 1.53.0
4 Players are the new minimum!
DQ in Top Cut promotes the previous Opponent if done between Matches!
Dropping keeps you in the standings – great for JRs mixed into large MRs PODs!

Have fun out there!

.

Trash Talk

The Pokemon TCG has a lot of cards which have players discard cards from their hand in order to get an additional effect.

There has been a bit of confusion among Pokemon TCG Players and Judges about when you can discard the cards from your hand even if you can’t perform the additional effect. This is because sometimes the discard is a cost and sometimes it is an effect in and of itself. The wording of the card doesn’t always make that clear.

The Rules Team is publishing a series of rulings on many of these cards that are commonly played so that players and judges will be able to have consistent rulings in tournaments on whether they are allowed to discard cards for no further effect in order to clear those cards out of their hand.
In addition, to help make these rulings easier, we are providing an easy to use chart outlining what is and isn’t allowed with many popularly played cards. The sets that the Pokemon are from have been identified in {brackets}, but note that if they are reprinted as promos or secret rares, any functionally identical cards will also work the same way.

We hope this helps everyone out. Enjoy!

Card Attack / Ability Comments
Computer Search You cannot discard two cards
from your hand if there are no
cards left in the Deck to search
Dowsing Machine You cannot discard two cards
from your hand if there are no
Trainer cards in the Discard Pile
and you cannot return cards to
your hand that you used to pay
this card’s cost
Empoleon {DEX} Diving Draw You can discard a card from your
hand when there are no cards
left in the Deck to draw
Fiery Flint You cannot discard two cards
from your hand if there are no
cards left in the Deck to search
Lost Blender You can use this if you have no
cards in your deck, but you can’t
play it unless you can put 2 cards
from your hand in the Lost Zone.
Mars You cannot play this card if you
have no cards left in your deck,
but if you have at least one card,
you can play it and get the other effect.
Mysterious Treasure You cannot discard a card from
your hand if there are no cards
left in the Deck to search
Ninetales {TEU} Nine Temptations You can discard 2 {R} Energy
cards from your hand if your
opponent has no Benched Pokémon
Plumeria You cannot discard two cards
from your hand if there is no Energy
attached to your opponent’s Pokémon
Professor Juniper You cannot discard your hand if
there are no cards left in the Deck to draw
Professor Sycamore You cannot discard your hand if
there are no cards left in the Deck to draw
Sophocles You cannot discard two cards from
your hand if there are no cards left
in the Deck to draw
Starmie {EVO} Space Beacon You can discard a card from your
hand when there is no Basic
Energy in the Discard
Swampert {CES} Power Draw You can discard a card from your
hand when there are no cards
left in the Deck to draw
Ultra Ball You cannot discard two cards
from your hand if there are no
cards left in the Deck to search
Unown {AOR} Farewell Letter You cannot discard Unown from
your Bench unless you can draw a card
Volcanion Prism Star {FLI} Jet Geyser You can discard a {W} Energy
card from your hand if your
opponent has no Benched Pokémon
Zebstrika {LOT} Sprint You cannot discard your hand
if there are no cards left in the
Deck to draw
Zoroark GX {SLG} Trade You can discard a card from
your hand when there are no
cards left in the Deck to draw

Update to Ban List for Pokemon TCG – Two Cards Added for Expanded

         

Pokemon has released their quarterly update to the ban list and two cards were added. Players were expected Lusamine to be on this list, due to the possibility for infinite recursions, but it is not to be for now, at least.

No cards are banned in Standard format, but Maxie’s Hidden Ball Trick and the “DAMAGE” Unown (LOT 90/214) were added to the ban list for Expanded.

Pokemon explains their banning as follows:

A Fighting-type Pokémon in the upcoming Sun & Moon—Team Up expansion would create a potentially devastating combo with Maxie’s Hidden Ball Trick that can be achieved on the first turn of the game. Rather than wait and see how this turns out, it was determined that the best course of action was to prevent this combo before it happened.

With multiple combos that exist in the Expanded format, the DAMAGE Ability of Unown could be used to win the game on the first or second turn. Even though these combos haven’t yet proven to be successful in tournament play, they will become easier to achieve with the release of new cards, so Unown is being banned as a preventive measure. Note that Unown with the HAND Ability and Unown with the MISSING Ability, also from Sun & Moon—Lost Thunder, are still legal for tournament play.

Here is the complete list of banned cards in Expanded:

 

The announcement is found here: https://www.pokemon.com/us/sun-moon-team-up-banned-list-and-rule-changes-quarterly-announcement/

The Banned List is found here: https://www.pokemon.com/us/pokemon-tcg-banned-card-list/

Pokemon TCG SM: Team Up FAQs

The FAQs for SM: Team Up have been released. They are available on the Pokemon Professor forum, but for those of you that don’t have access, we are posting them here as well. I have attached the pdf version to this article, but they are also posted below.
Enjoy and play safe!

Sun & Moon—Team Up FAQ

Sun & Moon—Team Up – FAQ

POKÉMON ABILITIES:

== DANCE OF THE ANCIENTS (Tapu Koko {*} – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If I have Tapu Koko {*} and only one other Pokémon on the bench, can I use “Dance of the Ancients” to put 2 {L} Energy on that one other Benched Pokémon?
A. No, in this case, you can put only one {L} Energy on that Benched Pokémon. The second {L} Energy would have to go onto Tapu Koko {*}, but then gets discarded immediately anyway when Tapu Koko {*} goes to the Lost Zone.

Q. If I only have one {L} Energy in my discard pile, can I use Tapu Koko {*}’s “Dance of the Ancients” Ability to put it on one of my Benched Pokémon?
A. Yes, you would do as much as you can.

== DARK AMBITION (Absol – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. Does the extra Retreat cost placed by Absol’s “Dark Ambition” Ability increase the damage done by Absol’s “Shadow Seeker” attack?
A. Yes it does.

== NINE TEMPTATIONS (Ninetales – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. Can I use Ninetales’ “Nine Temptations” Ability if my opponent has no benched Pokémon?
A. Yes, you can discard 2 {R} Energy cards from your hand, and that’s it.

== ROARING RESOLVE (Charizard – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If I use Charizard’s “Roaring Resolve” Ability with only 10hp left, does he get KO’d when I place the 2 damage counters before or after I search & attach 2 {R} Energy cards?
A. You must finish all the text of the Ability before checking for knockouts, so yes you would search your deck and attach {R} Energy cards before KO’ing Charizard.

POKÉMON ATTACKS:

== COPYCAT (Mimikyu – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. When I use Mimikyu’s “Copycat” attack, do I need to have the same required energy as the opponent’s previous attack?
A. No, you only need whatever energy is required on Mimikyu in order to use its Copycat attack. However, if the attack requires you to do something with a particular type of energy you don’t have, you cannot use that part of the copied attack.

== DEVILISH HANDS GX (Hoopa GX – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. When using Hoopa GX’s “Devilish Hands GX” attack, can I keep choosing a Pokémon that would already be Knocked Out by previous choices, or do I have to choose a different Pokémon once I have done enough damage to KO the first one?
A. You make all 6 choices before doing any damage; so if you wish, you can do more damage than you need to a Pokémon in order to knock it out.

== DRAG OFF (Nidoking – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If my opponent has no benched Pokémon, do I do 50 damage to their active Pokémon when I use Nidoking’s “Drag Off” attack?
A. No. Damage is only done to the “new Active Pokémon”. If there is no switch, then no damage is done.

== HEAD HUNT (Zangoose – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. When I use Zangoose’s “Head Hunt” attack, do I have to put all Pokémon I find into my hand, or can I choose to discard some or all of them?
A. Since you get to choose which Pokémon to reveal, you can choose to discard some or all of them.

== SHADOW SEEKER (Absol – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. Does the extra Retreat cost placed by Absol’s “Dark Ambition” Ability increase the damage done by Absol’s “Shadow Seeker” attack?
A. Yes it does.

== THUNDEROUS ASSAULT (Zapdos – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If my opponent Knocks Out my Active Pokémon and I promote my Zapdos to be Active after the attack, do I get the bonus 70 damage for “Thunderous Assault”?
A. No. In this scenario, you promoted the Zapdos while it was still your opponent’s turn. In order to get Thunderous Assault’s additional damage, it would have to become Active during YOUR turn.

TRAINER CARDS:

== INGO & EMMET (Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. When using Ingo & Emmet, if I choose to draw 5 cards from the bottom or my deck, what happens to the top card that I looked at?
A. You put it back on top before you draw the 5 cards from the bottom.

== JUDGE WHISTLE (Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If I use Judge Whistle and choose to put a “Judge” card from my discard pile into my hand, can I put a “Judge Whistle” into my hand?
A. No, that choice only allows you to put a card named “Judge” into your hand; it does not allow you to get a card “with Judge in its name”.

== UNIDENTIFIED FOSSIL (Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. Can I choose to play Unidentified Fossil as one of my starting Pokémon?
A. No, you cannot. It’s considered a Trainer while in your hand, so it doesn’t count as a Basic Pokémon during setup. (Feb 8, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)

Q. If an opponent KO’s my Unidentified Fossil do they get to take a prize?
A. Yes, that’s part of being treated as if it were a “Basic Pokémon”. Your opponent takes a prize when Unidentified Fossil is knocked out, but not if you discard it from play. (Feb 8, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)

SM: Lost Thunder – FAQ

Lost Thunder Prereleases are getting under way, with some locations running Friday night (midnight) events.
Pokemon should be sending emails out to those Tournament Organizers with the FAQs for the set, but for those organizers not seeing it in their emails, and for judges who are not on the mailing list, attached below is a pdf with the rulings.
It’s not as pretty as the one Pokemon will send out, but it’s got all the rulings and will save you some color ink.

SM08 Lost Thunder FAQ

For your convenience, we have also listed the rulings directly below.
Enjoy your events everyone!

POKEMON ABILITIES:

== ALMIGHTY EVOLUTION (Ditto {*} – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Can you evolve Ditto {*} into a Stage 1 Pokemon and then on a later turn place a new, different Stage 1 Pokemon onto it?
A. No, not unless you have devolved Ditto {*} somehow during a previous turn.

Q. If I have placed a Stage 1 Pokemon onto Ditto {*}, can I later evolve that into the corresponding Stage 2 Pokemon?
A. Yes, you can!

== CHARMED CHARM (Tapu Lele – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Can you choose to not Confuse your opponent’s active Pokemon if you attach Fairy Charm to a Tapu Lele that has the “Charmed Charm” Ability?
A. Yes, it is optional.

== FLORAL PATH TO THE SKY (Skiploom – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. What happens if I use Skiploom’s “Floral Path to the Sky” Ability but fail to find a Jumpluff in my deck?
A. Skiploom stays in play, and since you searched your deck the ability is used up for the turn.

Q. What happens to any damage counters on Skiploom when it uses its “Floral Path to the Sky” Ability? Do they go on the Jumpluff that takes Skiploom’s place?
A. Any damage counters on Skiploom are removed when it goes to the Lost Zone; they do not transfer to the Jumpluff that takes its place. Special conditions are not transferred to the new Jumpluff either.

== GET LOST (Tyranitar GX – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. If you Knock Out a Pokemon using one of Tyranitar GX’s attacks, do you get to take a prize card if the Pokemon is sent to the Lost Zone due to Tyranitar GX’s “Get Lost” Ability?
A. Yes, you do. It is still Knocked Out.

POKEMON ATTACKS:

== BREEZE AWAY GX (Virizion GX – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Can I scoop up Virizion GX as part of its own “Breeze Away GX” attack?
A. Yes, you can.

== EYE OPENER (Poipole – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. When I look at my face-down Prize cards with Poipole’s “Eye Opener” attack, do I have to put them back in the same order?
A. Yes, you only get to look at them, you don’t get to rearrange them.

== LOST PURGE GX (Lugia GX – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Does using Lugia GX’s “Lost Purge GX” attack count as KO’ing a Pokemon?
A. No, it does not. You are moving the opponent’s Active Pokemon and all cards attached to the Lost Zone, and since it does not count as a KO you don’t get to take any prizes for it.

TRAINER CARDS:

== KAHILI (SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Can I play Kahili if there’s only one card left in my deck?
A. If you can draw at least 1 card from your deck, you can use Kahili and do the coin flip part. But if you can’t draw any cards, you can’t use it.

== LUSAMINE {*} (SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Is there any way to clear the effect of Lusamine {*}?
A. No, however any attacks that ignore effects on the Defending Pokemon would get through its effect.

Volunteer applications for Brazil IC close August 26!

Professor Oaks Ponder
Professor Oaks Ponder: Wrestling? Maybe use Machamp.

As announced on the Copag page via translation on Facebook:

???? attention teachers! ????

Applications – Latin America International Championship is an American professional wrestling pay – per – view event.

The deadline for registration is until August 26

Good luck everyone!

Continue reading “Volunteer applications for Brazil IC close August 26!”