2 on 2 Questions?

Discussion in 'TCG News & Gossip Discussion' started by LTEDDYBEAR, Sep 13, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LTEDDYBEAR

    LTEDDYBEAR New Member

    Do you always have to have 2 pokemon in?

    Can you have 5 pokemon on your bench, if you only put 1 pokemon in?

    If you attack one pokemon out of the 2 do you have to attack it again next turn?
     
  2. Dendrobatida

    Dendrobatida New Member

    I asked Jimmer this question at Gen-Con, and the rule book backs it up. In 2 vs. 2, if you can have 2 active pokemon, you must have 2 active pokemon. Your bench will never contain more than 4 pokemon, since an empty active slot must always be filled by one of your total possible 6 pokemon in play. As far as attacking is concerned, you may change the target of your attack each turn.
     
  3. dkates

    dkates New Member

    *Yes, unless you don't have a second Pokemon at all.
    *No, see above answer.
    *No, you can switch attackers and/or targets each turn.
     
  4. Dek

    Dek New Member

    since this is 2v2 topic, how many cards should be in the deck. I know its a stupid question, but i've heard that it will be 40 card decks, then I heard 60 card decks. Now im confused.
     
  5. dkates

    dkates New Member

    60, as before.
     
  6. Tails

    Tails New Member

    Being side rules, rather an a full-fledged set, I'd say 60. That, and, for those who played Team Rocket style, even 60 cards seems a bit short at times.

    Edit: OK, I'm probably completeyl wron gon the "side rules" thing, but that's what they feel like... Still, 60 seems right.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2003
  7. Nick15

    Nick15 Member

    It's really the same game, you just have two Active Pokémon instead of one! :)
     
  8. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Arthas Zero

    40 has always been the decksize for limited formats
    60 has always been the decsize for constructed.

    However there have been other training formats with different deck sizes. I don't remember how many cards PUI (the 'Nintendo' stand at Gencon) had in their decks
     
  9. LTEDDYBEAR

    LTEDDYBEAR New Member

    What about Mysterious Fossil?
    It says it becomes a pokemon once you play it to your bench, but does it still have to become one of your active pokemon?
     
  10. dkates

    dkates New Member

    Treat it as a Pokemon. If it's your second Pokemon, it becomes an Active. If not, it goes to your bench, simple as that.
     
  11. LTEDDYBEAR

    LTEDDYBEAR New Member

    If you play switch does that still go as retreating?
     
  12. Chrisbo

    Chrisbo Administrator

    No, regardless of whether it's 2 vs. 2 or 1 vs. 1, Switch does not count as retreating.

    - CHRISBO
     
  13. BJJ763

    BJJ763 Trading Mod Supervisor Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    Trainer cards like Switch that move the Active to the Bench are not the same as Retreating. Retreating is taking your Active and moving it to the Bench after paying the Retreat Cost (located in the lower right hand corner of the card).
     
  14. LTEDDYBEAR

    LTEDDYBEAR New Member

    If you only start out with one pokemon and then draw one from your deck, does that mean you have to play it to your bench if you don't want to?
     
  15. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No. But if you play it to your bench, it then gets promoted to the other Active spot.
     
  16. League Leader Terry

    League Leader Terry New Member

    In other words, if you only have one Pokemon and draw another, you HAVE to play it in the other Active spot?
     
  17. dkates

    dkates New Member

    No. Your options are to either keep it in your hand or make it Active.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page