A different Gardy Lv.X question

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Endoftime, Nov 18, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Endoftime

    Endoftime New Member

    Bring Down says: "Choose 1 Pokemon (yours or your opponent's) with the fewest remaining HP (excluding Gardevoir) and that Pokemon is now Knocked Out."

    My question is, if Gardevoir has the lowest HP on the field, we know you can't select it to attack,
    but are you allowed to pick a different one? The way the card is worded, I feel that it doesn't
    completely clarify whether or not Gardevoir can actually target any OTHER Pokemon when it has
    the lowest HP. Does "excluding Gardevoir" mean that you don't even count it when finding the
    lowest HP, or just that you can't knock it out?
     
  2. bulbasnore

    bulbasnore Administrator Staff Member Trader Feedback Mod

    The wording is self-referencing -- it means "except this Pokemon". Only the attacking Gardevoir is protected under Bring Down. It can target any other Pokemon that meets the "lowest remaining HP that isn't the attacking Gardevoir" qualification, regardless of whether the attacking Gardevoir has the lowest actual HP or not.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008

Share This Page