Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

A Generation 1 deck

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ridley

My friends and I, to spite the large Magic community at my school, decided to grab our old pokemon cards and get to battling. However, we realized that most of the newer stuff is horribly overpowered, and only one guy has any of the newer cards. So to be fair, we are only using Generation 1 cards (Base set 1, Base Set 2, Jungle, Legendary Collection, Fossil 1, etc.).
After grabbing some random cards and trying them, we realized that there's a bit of deeper strategy that goes in with some cards and decks.
So, I've grabbed some of my old cards and I decided to make a deck. I need to order some from Troll and Toad, which is fine by me. I'm also borrowing some cards from people.
It's my first time building a deck, so keep in mind it will only be up against the Gen 1 cards.

So here's my deck.

20 Electric energy

4 Potion (remove 2 damage counters)
3 Super Potion (remove 1 energy and 4 damage counters)
2 Bills (draw 2 cards)
1 Switch
2 Energy Retrieval (discard a card to retrieve 2 energy)
2 Poke ball (flip coin, get basic or evolved poke)
2 Traders (Send evolved or basic poke from hand to deck to get another basic or evolved poke from deck)

2 Jolteon
3 Eevee
1 Zapdos
4 Electabuzz
4 Pidgey
3 Pidgeotto
2 Pidgeot
3 Doduo
2 Dodrio

(Links below)

Mono-typing, this deck is focused on using my energy to heal and do some serious attacks. The electric types (except Zapdos) are weak to fighting, while everyone else resists it. Other electric types may pose a problem, but I should be able to keep anything I don't like away.
The basic strategy of this deck is to get a Dodrio or a Pidgeot and switch, switch, and switch. Hurricanes will provide stalling support and prevent my opponent from setting up.