absol (secret wonders)

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by logan1975, Nov 27, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. logan1975

    logan1975 New Member

    http://pokegym.net/gallery/showimage.php?i=31869&c=162

    well, the first attack says that you discard a card from your oponent hand and if you discarded a trainer, supporter or stadium, you get to discard another card...my question is....what if you discarded another trainer, .... or.... do you get to discard another one, in some elliptical way?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 28, 2007
  2. BloodDraek

    BloodDraek New Member

    no, because it doesn't say to keep apllying this effect until you pick an energy/pokemon/tool. Otherwise you could discard your opponents entire hand
     
  3. SPARTA

    SPARTA New Member

    You discard two max. A tool is a trainer BTW.
     
  4. Mew*

    Mew* Active Member

    Yeah, if you could actually keep discarding cards with no limit, this little guy would be even MORE broken :nonono:.
     
  5. ZAKtheGeek

    ZAKtheGeek New Member

    No, Baleful Wind is not recursive.
     
  6. mrdraz07

    mrdraz07 New Member

    That would be almost ban-worthy, if not format-warping. Imagine decks going half and half on pokemon and energy just to avoid getting wrecked by absol. And even then they're discarding a card a turn!
     
  7. twdorris

    twdorris New Member

    So are Supporters and Stadiums but they are specifically called out in Baleful Wind. So that does raise the question of whether a Tool on the first discard allows for a second. Has anyone asked for a ruling on this before? I searched, but didn't see anything.

    Yes, a Tool is a trainer but if you allow "Trainer" to imply any of the types of trainer cards, then (1) how would text refer specifically to a pure Trainer (e.g., Poke Ball) and (2) why are Stadiums and Supporters called out specifically in Baleful Wind?

    To me, it seems more likely that Trainer actually refers to a pure Trainer card (i.e., not a Supporter or Stadium or Tool). Which would mean that discarding a Tool card on your first pull would not allow for a second discard.

    Can anyone clarify, please?

    EDIT
    : BTW, the original question of this thread appears to have been answered in this "Ask the Masters" thread. I'm still left wondering if my interpretation of Baleful Wind is correct or not, though.

    Thomas Dorris
     
  8. MathAenya

    MathAenya New Member

    Since DP, Trainers cards are now classified into 3 types :
    - Stadium
    - Supporters
    - Trainers

    The first 2 are obvious, and the third contains all that is not a Stadium or a Supporter. Tools count now as Trainers.
     
  9. twdorris

    twdorris New Member

    Excellent. Thanks. Now that you mention this, I see the exact statement in the Compendium trainers section. Not sure how I missed that the first time. Maybe because it was in the trainers section and not specifically related to Baleful Winds. I need to broaden my searches next time. :)

    Thomas Dorris
     
  10. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    Post Diamond & Pearl we have 5 different types of card

    1-Pokemon
    2-Energy
    3-Stadium cards
    4-Supporters
    5-Trainers

    They are all now distinct. Any card printed in DP, MT, SW knows that there are five distinct types. Any card printed in DP, MT, SW knows that a Supporter is not a Trainer.

    Older cards from the EX series don't know this and view Supporters, Stadiums, and Trainers as the same type of card. So the SW Absol knows that it has to say Supporter Stadium and Trainer if it wants to have an effect the same as an EX series Absol that would just refer to all three under the title Trainer..
     
  11. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    Having not played at any tourneys with DP-on cards in format, might I ask what deck sheets are like now? Are there still 3 sections or 5?
     
  12. twdorris

    twdorris New Member

    I (well, my son) hasn't played any DP-on tournaments yet either. Which I guess is part of the reason why I was clueless about the Trainer re-naming thing.

    As for deck sheets, you can see the new version(s) in the Editable decklist files thread. I'll ruin the suspense, though...there's not much different.

    Thomas Dorris
     
  13. DarkMagnus

    DarkMagnus New Member

    still only 3 ( least what i have seen) i think that they will be changed when the format is DP-on only changing them now would mess thnigs up as some stadiums are still trainers. and for the purpose of a deck list IMO its irrelavant
     

Share This Page