Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Any psychology students? Need ideas for assignment (Pokemon related)

AlanJLegend

Hey guys,

In sports science we are doing the sports psych unit, and are currently doing a major assignment. Basically, the class will be taking some memory tests that contain different amounts of rehearsal time, number chunked together, distractions etc. I need to put together a hypothesis in regards to one of these factors, then do a write-up. Part of this write-up is going into how it relates to a sport of your choice. I had a chat to my sports science teacher about whether I can do Pokemon TCG...he said as long as I take into account that he doesn't understand the game and explain anything properly, it's fine!

I'm thinking the easiest hypothesis would be one about distractions, however rehersal and chunking may have some merit to them. Basically, I'm wondering if anybody with an education in psychology (I did it last year but I'm no expert) has any ideas of what I could talk about in regards to how they relate to Pokemon TCG, examples etc.

Any suggestions/help would be appreciated! Thanks.

I took AP Psychology, and good for you for thinking outside the box and bringing Pokemon into a classroom. :)

I think it'd be fun to write about the mental strain of tournaments and the bluffing/fakeouts that are more common in top cuts. Something about how you have to anticipate the common techs in a deck and be prepared for them when they come out, or how you have to reevaluate your strategy if something you weren't prepared to see hits the field. Whether to play your Luxray Lv. X in a mirror match when your opponent has out 3 sp and a hand of 8, etc.

you could talk about card "fads" that is the popularity of certain cards skyrockets in a very small period of time

My girlfriend's studying psychology and she think it's a really cool idea :D

She said: