Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Charzano's States 2010 Reports

Charzano

I played in Missouri State Championships the first weekend of States this year, and Tennessee the second. I am in my first year of Masters and had been playing Gengar/Nidoqueen since Naitonals last year, so my ambition for states was to top cut with something other than Gengar. For Missouri I played Gyarados, and for Tennessee I played Gardevoir/Gallade. Both decks were my own versions. On to the reports.

Missouri

~Round 1 VS Dad with Flygon/Donphan~
I start with Regice and Warp Energy to the bench. I get rolling after a minute and KO his flygon. He Xtreme Attacks my Luxray X at one point, but I end up winning by 2 prizes or so.

1-0

~Round 2 VS Anthony with Butterfree~
Butterfree, what the heck? I didn't know what this deck was supposed to do, but found out soon enough that it gets setup T1 and then hits for a constant 70 or 80 the rest of the game while healing 70 to 80 damage every turn. Pretty crazy stuff right there. I prized 2 Magikarp, 2 Gdos, and 2 SSU, so I was screwed from the start. I did get it down to me only having 2 prizes left though before he beat me. My pokehealers came in handy.

1-1

~Round 3 VS Dad with Jumpluff/Shaymin~
I one shotted all of his jumpluffs with Gyaradoses. I had SSU/Pokehealers ready after every attack. He prized his Shaymin X so that was a plus for me, but I had Luxray X ready to Bring it up and knock it out anyway.

2-1

~Round 4 VS Gardevoir/Gallade~
I have the worst start ever. Lone Magikarp and no supporters what so ever. My opponenet gets a T2 Gardy with Psychic and DCE and Claydol to Cosmic for 6. At one point I do get a Gyarados but he sends up Gallade with a Belt and flips over the rest of his prizes for the KO.

2-2

~Round 5 VS Jason with Gyarados~