Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Coming back to Pokemon after several years

Cardkeeper

<a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=
Hey guys, I haven't been on this place in forever. Anyway, I am thinking of coming back to the Pokemon TCG after several years' hiatus. I started playing at the end of middle school/beginning of high school in 2008. I stopped playing right as junior year of high school started up. The last decks I can remember playing competitively are DialgaChomp and then BlazeRay. There was also a period right when I started to get out of the game where I played Ross' Deck up until autumn regionals. I think the last set that was out the last tournament I went to was Noble Victories, but even then it was a here-and-there type of deal. I honestly stopped playing after the first B&W set released.

Anyway I've been trying my hardest to stay up-to-date with the flow of the game since the D&P-P/HGSS era. I know EXs and stupid big basic decks have been a thing for several years now. I lurked and watched the time when ZekEels, Celebi-Tornadus-Mewtwo and Darkrai-Sableye where the big decks. But to be honest, I have really been out of the loop. I have no idea whats viable, what archetypes are established, what cards I should and shouldn't invest in, etc.

I did end up taking my Professor test in March with plans to begin judging and helping out at the local league, but unfortunately with me joining college this year, the time and money didn't exist. Now that I'm comfortably settled into school, I am more freely able to move around my time and money, so judging is also a possibility.