Confusion effects

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Mithos, Aug 13, 2012.

  1. Mithos

    Mithos New Member

    I have a few questions about self attacking. I'll give some background info first.

    The compendium details a ruling that if a pokemon deals damage to itself as part of an attack, and it has a weakness to it's own type then it would recieve double damage as the damage is considered to have come from an opposong pokemon (the example given was a weakness converted electebuzz by a porygon).


    To that end, will eviolite reduce some of the damage incurred in this way (ie eviolite attached to a Reshiram-ex after a tails flip for Brave Fire)?
    In the example of confusion, if the pokemon has a weakness to its own type (ie dragon or psychic) will the damage be doubled, and again will eviolite reduce the damage?

    THanks in advance for any replies.

    Cheers,
    Mithos
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, the first thing to note is that you are quoting a ruling from the original Compendium.
    The Compendium that should be used now is the Compendium-BW
    That ruling was made way back in 1999 (or thereabouts) when some of the rules were different than they are now.
    For example, back then, a failed Confusion flip did 20 damage.
    It no longer does. Many years ago, Confusion was changed so that a failed attack flip now places 3 damage counters.

    And that makes all the difference. Placing damage counters is not the same as doing damage. It is not affected by Weakness and resistance, or by Eviolite.
     

Share This Page