Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Curtis Lyon - 1st Place Masters Report (Canada) w/ quad...actually Tri-Entei

“Ambition - an earnest desire for some type of achievement or distinction”

Pre-Tournament
I just want to start the report by thanking Matthew Koo, Bidier Jing, Geneses Pabuna and Anthony Sinclair for the endless hours of frustrating nights of testing. This victory was as much there’s as it was mine.

I am not trying to brag in this next passage, more-so express a series of frustrating events leading up to 2012 nationals. I have been playing for 5 years now and in the first four years playing there was literally one tournament (2009 eastern Canadian regionals) I didn’t top cut at. I’ve accomplished so much in the first four years I never thought I would do. With that being said, this 2012 year has been so frustrating for me. I did not top cut at any event in regards to 2 regionals, 2 states, cities marathon. I’ve had people come up to me telling me I’ve fallen off, I’ve been lucky…disregarding anything I’ve ever accomplished in this game so far. Half way through this pathetic season I slowly began realizing that the only way for me to go to worlds was going to be through nationals. I wanted the invite more than anything.

The lead up to nationals was that on the weekend of June 23rd I tested with the guys mentioned above. I really loved klingklang/vileplume I felt it had so many auto-wins and it is almost unbeatable in swiss. My only caveats with the deck were that top-cut was going to be incredibly hard; you were virtually playing against your opponent and time. I also brought a quad-entie I had tweaked. Any annoying cards you can think of were in my original list: Crushing hammers, lost removers, moo-moo milk, potion, and max potion….etc.