Ditto BCR 108 and Unidentified Fossil

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by TheMantyke, Apr 1, 2019.

8 league13 468 60
  1. TheMantyke

    TheMantyke New Member

    Can I use Ditto BCR 108's Transform ability to put an Unidentified Fossil down on it?

    For ease of reference, Ditto's Transform ability reads:

    During your turn (before your attack), you may put a Basic Pokémon from your hand on top of this Pokémon. (This does not count as playing that Pokémon or evolving.) This Pokémon is now that Pokémon. (Any cards attached to this Pokémon, damage counters, Special Conditions, turns in play, and any other effects remain on the new Pokémon.)

    Unidentified Fossil reads:
    Play this card as if it were a 60-HP colorless Basic Pokémon. At any time during your turn (before your attack), you may discard this card from play. This card can't retreat. (Along with all the typical text on an item card)
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No. That would be combining two effects into one.
    The Unidentified Fossil is not a Basic Pokémon until it is in play, so it would not be a valid target to use for Ditto's Transform Ability.
     
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page