"Each Type of Basic Energy"

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by UncleBob, Feb 20, 2004.

  1. UncleBob

    UncleBob New Member

    Quick question... (everyone laugh at the noob!)

    If a card says something along the lines of "...plus 10 more damage for each type of basic energy card attached" and I have 5 grass energy cards attached, it'd only be +10 because there is only one type of energy attached, right? Meaning that the most you could get from this is +60, right?
     
  2. Marriland

    Marriland New Member

    Yep, exactly. So if you had 1 Grass Energy and 1 Fire Energy attached, you'd do +20, whereas if you had 3 Grass Energy and a Rainbow Energy (provides basic Energy, but is not a basic Energy card), you'd only do +10.
     
  3. Physics Squirrel

    Physics Squirrel Active Member

    I heard that Rainbow (or at least Multi) Energy counts as each type of basic energy card. :\
     
  4. Mr. Grass

    Mr. Grass New Member

    No, Rainbow and Multi provide each type of Basic Energy, they are never basic energy cards.
     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Not quite. Rainbow (or Multi) counts as each type of Basic energy, but if an attack or effect specifies a "basic energy card' (that exact wording), Rainbow will not satisfy it.

    Here's the various scenarios, where "X" represents a color of energy:

    Attack/effect specifies energy: Rainbow satisfies it.
    Attack/effect specifies energy cards: Rainbow satisfies it.
    Attack/effect specifies "X" energy: Rainbow satisfies it.
    Attack/effect specifies "X" energy card or cards: Rainbow satisfies it.
    Attack/effect specifies Basic "X" energy card: Rainbow does not satisfy it.
    Attack/effect specifies Basic energy card(s): Rainbow does not satisfy it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2004
  6. Physics Squirrel

    Physics Squirrel Active Member

    So rainbow is a water energy card, a fire energy card, etc. (for the purposes of stuff like Kingdra's Water Cyclone) but not a BASIC energy card?

    Another thing, it is true that darkness and metal energy types can NEVER add to Rainbow Burn's damage, right.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2004
  7. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    right in both cases.
     
  8. SteveP

    SteveP Active Member

    actually, 'pop is right as it currently stands because there are currently no basic energy cards for Metal and Dark. If those cards were ever printed, then they WOULD add damage.
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2004
  9. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Which will never happen.

    (Oops, now it will happen because I always get dinged when I say things like that ;))
     
  10. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    magic 8 ball says "|"YEU&*#(RBNDK

    anyone got some oil for a magic 8 ball?
     

Share This Page