Fire Spin w/ X Accuracy

Discussion in 'Trading Figure Game' started by Luxatos, Nov 3, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Luxatos

    Luxatos <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Let's say X Accuracy is used on Charizard and Fire Spin is done. If any subsequent spins are Misses, can they be re-spun because of X Accuracy's effect?
     
  2. Gibby

    Gibby New Member

    Now that's an interesting question. I never thought about that personally. But this is how I see the combination:

    The card says to basically spin again if you land on Miss. I always read that as for the "initial" attack (or for which attack would happen). So, if you spun and the first result was Miss, then you would spin again until you landed on something that wasn't Miss.

    The Attack Fire Spin is specific in it's wording, and I don't think the X Accuracy card would change it. So, even if you landed on Miss while doing the Fire Spin spin's, you would still end the attack and count up the total.

    Basically, I feel that the X Accuracy card takes effect at first. If you land on Miss while resolving the Fire Spin effect, the attack ends then. The card doesn't change the effect of the attack itself; just if you use it at first or not.

    Does that make any sense?

    Also, this isn't official. This is just how I see it (for now). It's a strange combination really that needs more clarification in the rules of the game. That's the one thing that I'm sad about the TFG in general.

    Gibby
     
  3. I would think you would spin again.
     
  4. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    I think Gibby is right.
     
  5. lucy-chu

    lucy-chu New Member

    Actually I think the card says to re-spin misses. You could re-spin all misses.
     
  6. Gibby

    Gibby New Member

    That is true, but I don't think the card would effect the 'result' of an attack. I think the X-Accuracy would be used to make sure you do an attack at first. But once you start to resolve an attacks requirements, then the X-Accuracy is not used anymore.

    What is really needed is more clarification on the game in general. We have the basic rules for the game, but no way of figuring out how to resolve more complicated situations.

    Gibby
     
  7. DukeFireBird

    DukeFireBird Gallery Administrator<br>Forum Moderator

    X-Accuracy basically means that you WILL hit the defending pokemon with an attack.

    Once you spin Fire Spin, then X-Acc did its job.

    Each subsequent spin is suspectable to "missing" afterwards
     
  8. lucy-chu

    lucy-chu New Member

    I thought we determined on this thread that you could not miss after hitting Firespin. I'm confused.

    Back to back posts merged. The following information has been added:

    K. I got the card. It says-
    Choose 1 of your Pokemon. During this turn, spin that pokemon's Miss results again.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2007
  9. votalesin

    votalesin New Member

    The result of a spin was fire spin. Every spin after that is an effect of fire spin. I would vote that X Acc only works on your initial spin. If thats not the case, then get something with a stackable attack and a huge miss section and spin to your hearts content.
     
  10. Gibby

    Gibby New Member

    I agree with votalesin. Instead of focusing simply on the X-Accuracy card, read what the Fire Spin attack states:

    Even if X-Accuracy says to spin again if you land on Miss, the attack says that if you "land" on anything other then Fire Spin, the attack ends. It doesn't matter if you have the 'right' to spin again due to X-Accuracy, the attack ends because you landed on something other then Fire Spin.

    I also have the card, and it' sitting right in front of me right now. I still read it (personally) as only effecting which attack you can use. Once the attack has been selected, the card is null-and-void, and the attack takes priority. What I said before about the attack itself is my reasoning for this thinking.

    [EDIT]
    The thing about this specific situation is that we don't know what takes priority. If the card takes priority over the attack, then yes, you would spin again if you land on Miss. But if the attack takes priority, then the attack ends once landing on anything other then Fire Spin.

    I'm leaning more towards the attack having priority because we follow the attack itself. But that's just me.

    Gibby
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2007
  11. lucy-chu

    lucy-chu New Member

    Except you can only use the card once.

    Back to back posts merged. The following information has been added:

    Well it's definitely an interesting question. Is there someone who official addresses these sorts of things?
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2007
  12. hectagonman

    hectagonman New Member

    mtjimmer
     
  13. Luxatos

    Luxatos <a href="http://pokegym.net/forums/showpost.php?p=

    Actually, it doesn't say anything about "landing," per se, it says a result other than Fire Spin. And X Accuracy says to spin Miss results again, basically like the spin didn't happen. Some clarification would be nice, since with both effects, you're looking for "results" and the rules are a little ambiguous.
     
  14. Archaic

    Archaic New Member

    So to summarize....is it or is it not a Miss "result" if you spin a Fire Spin, then spin a miss at any point while doing the extra spins for that Fire Spin.

    As far as I'm aware, we always played it as a yes to that question there here in Australia, and it wasn't among the issues which got reported to be fixed.
     
  15. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    X Accuracy says to re-spin (ignore) Miss results - they're not a result, because they never technically happen.
     
  16. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Wait, so Jimmer, you're saying that you get to keep spinning and racking up the Fire Spin damage??
     
  17. Jran Sakarra

    Jran Sakarra New Member

    I hope that is not what he is saying....
     
  18. Mew

    Mew New Member

    There's always the chance of landing on slash(whatever his other attack is).
     
  19. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    Fire Spin and Iron Tail become the only things that Charizard can land on, under an X Accuracy effect. Keep Fire Spinning until you get Iron Tail...
     
  20. Prime

    Prime Content Developer<br>Blog Admin<br>Contest Host

    What happens when you land on something other than those 2 while spinning for Fire Spin? Just spin again?
     

Share This Page