Fossils and Elm

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by TheDancingPeanut, Oct 20, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. TheDancingPeanut

    TheDancingPeanut New Member

    As you know, Professor Elm says you can't play any more trainer cards for the turn. But isn't the new ruling on Fossils that they only count as trainers in your deck? So, if I elm out, can I then lay down a fossil?
     
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    Actually, the new ruling is much like the old ruling. They only count as Pokemon while in play, and now while in your hand only in a special circumstance when the game starts. After that, they are Trainers while in your hand. Here is the ruling that states when they are considered Pokemon. Not answering the exact same question, but certainly enough information is provided to answer it.

    BDS
     
  3. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    Moving a copy of this thread to Single Card Strategy since PhoenixSong has some follow up discussion.

    BDS
     
  4. TheDancingPeanut

    TheDancingPeanut New Member

    The ruling that Big Daddy pointed out still does not address the question of how fossils are now to be treated while they are in a players hand. It's true, that searching for a fossil as a pokemon is not allowed, but, again, the fossil at that point, is in the deck. Is there a more specific ruling on this?
     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    To quote the official ruling:

    "Fossil Trainer cards are only considered Basic Pokemon while in play, or in the special situation of starting the game."

    It does not state any other exception for "in your hand".
     
  6. TheDancingPeanut

    TheDancingPeanut New Member

    OK. I'll accept that!
     
  7. ShadowCard

    ShadowCard Active Member

    If you only have a fossil trainer in your hand in your opening draw, do you have to play it as your starting basic or can you choose to mulligan?
     
  8. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Per the rule book, you get to choose
     

Share This Page