Gardevoir SW: Psychic Lock vs. Holon WP

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Chairman Kaga, Oct 31, 2007.

  1. Chairman Kaga

    Chairman Kaga Active Member

    This question was asked on another forum:

    Player uses Psychic Lock:

    Defending Pokemon has a Holon WP and a basic :water: attached:

    Is the effect prevented or not?

    The real question is how Holon WP reads. Does it mean:

    1. prevent all effects done to that Pokemon by attacks (so it does not block Gardevoir, because the effect is on the opponent, not the Pokemon), or
    2. prevent all effects by attacks against that Pokemon (so it does block Gardevoir, since Gardy is attacking the Pokemon with WP attached and it blocks the effect of any attack against it)

    (I ruled option 1, inferring from existing rulings for Unown E UF and Electivire LvX's Pulse Barrier. In these rulings Holon WP prevents actions specifically involving that Pokemon but allows the rest of the effect to occur.)
     
  2. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    Only effects "done to that Pokemon" are prevented, so something done to the Bench or the Opponent would get through. Your ruling was correct, the Opponent can't use any Poke-Powers on his or her Pokemon during their next turn.

    BDS
     

Share This Page