Immedicy of PokePowers Based on Benching from Hand

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by kevstoy, Aug 4, 2008.

  1. kevstoy

    kevstoy New Member

    Fancy title for a simple question. (sorry if it's been asked and answered, but I couldn't find it through search or compendium).

    The question: For Pokemon that have a PokePower worded, "Once during your turn, when you put <PokemonName> from your hand onto your bench, you may ...<specific effect>", do you have to use this PokePower "immediately" after the Pokemon is played?

    An example: Take Absol EX, with it's Cursed Eyes Pokemon Power: "Once during your turn, when you put Absol EX from your hand onto your bench, you may move 3 damage counter from 1 of your opponents pokemon to another of your opponents pokemon."

    When I play the Absol EX, do I have to immediately declare and use his powers before doing anything else? Or can you play the Absol EX, do other things like, retreat, use other powers, play trainers/supporters, etc... Then later in the same turn Absol EX was played (before the attack phase obviously) use its power because it was "during the same turn he was played".

    Thanks
    K
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    You have to declare it before doing anything else.
    If you do some other game action, you have declined to use it.
     

Share This Page