Legal Evovlution?

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by liminy0, Oct 18, 2003.

  1. liminy0

    liminy0 New Member

    As long as it is not your first turn, Can you evolve a basic pokemon from your hand to a stage one pokemon, then use wally's training to evolve the stage one to stage two in the same turn?
     
  2. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 New Member

    Not if you just played the basic this turn. Regular evolution (from the hand w/o a trainer to help) stil requires a turn.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2003
  3. dkates

    dkates New Member

    Well, there's always Rare Candy for that part...
     
  4. liminy0

    liminy0 New Member

    What I am saying is you evolved the basic to stage one legally, then can you put stage two on it by Wally's Training in the Same Turn.
     
  5. jdb728

    jdb728 New Member

    I may be wrong, but doesn't Rare Candy/Wally's Training take up the evolution for that turn, so if you just played a stage1 on the basic, then you couldn't Wally's Training for the stage2? I think that's how it goes.
    Either way, thanks for reading, hope this helps.

    EDIT: I saw today that they ruled the trainer doesn't take up your evolution for the turn, sorry for the confusion.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2003
  6. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Since you are using a Trainer, yes you could. Using a Trainer allows you to break the once per turn and 'not the turn it was played' rules. The only rule that a Trainer or Power can't break is the 'can't evolve on the first turn of the game' rule.

    Check the ATMT forum for the official rulings.
     
  7. Dek

    Dek New Member

    I have the Wally's Training card with me right now. Here is the fine print mentioned in the card

    Now I might be wrong, but I think it might be illegal because you are evolving a Pokemon that you just evolved. If it didnt say It counts as evolving, then it would probably be a legal move.
     
  8. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    That phrase is there in italics. That means that it is reminder text. It is there to remind you that it removes effects and conditions and does count as an evolution for the turn so that you can't then do another "normal" evolution. However, you can still evolve via Trainer or Power or Attack. All of those get past the "normal" evo rules
     
  9. jdb728

    jdb728 New Member

    "However, you can still evolve via Trainer or Power or Attack. All of those get past the "normal" evo rules"

    Exept of course the cards that state that they can't evolve the Pökèmön unless you could evolve it normally, like "Pökèmön Brèèdèr" ;) .

    Just tryin' to make sure no one thinks that Pokemon Breeder was errattaed or anything like that(at least I don't think it has been, yet).

    Thanks for reading. This post was just my opinion.
     
  10. Captain Obviousx1

    Captain Obviousx1 New Member

    Yea, you can do that...but I saw a weird ruling. I find the ruling that Rare Candy gets past Aerodactyl's Prehistoric Power quite odd. It says that no more Evolutions can be played. This should be interpreted as no Evolutions can hit the field after Aero comes out, period. I've talked to another person who doesn't agree with this ruling...maybe it should be overturned.
     
  11. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    That ruling has been well discussed both with WotC and with PUI and PUI checked with Japan IIRC and it works the way the ruling has said.
     

Share This Page