March 11th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by PokePop, Mar 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    * March 11th 2004 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == AQUA TRANCE (Team Aqua's Sealeo - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua; Team Aqua's Spheal
    - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    [CHRISBO NOTE: Question updated for clarity, and section header updated to
    include TA's Spheal too.]
    Q. Team Aqua’s Sealeo (Aqua Trance): It says "At the end of your opponent’s next
    turn, the Defending Pokémon is now Asleep." If I retreat the Pokémon that Team
    Aqua’s Sealeo attacked, does it make the new Defending Pokémon Asleep?
    A. The effect is tied to the Pokémon that Team Aqua's Sealeo attacked. It goes
    away if the Pokemon that was attacked goes to the bench, evolves, or otherwise
    leaves play. (Team Magma vs Team Aqua Prerelease FAQ, Q1; Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules
    Team)

    Q. If a Pokemon has been attacked by Sealeo's Aqua Trance, can you play a Full
    Heal on it and not fall asleep at the end of your turn?
    A. Full Heal won't have any effect since the Pokemon is not Asleep yet! Now Lum
    Berry or Miracle Berry would work to cure sleep, since it happens in between
    turns after you actually become Asleep. (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == DARK BIND (Team Aqua's Cacturne - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. If I discard a Darkness Energy card when using Team Aqua's Cacturne's "Dark
    Bind" attack, would I still get the +10 damage bonus?
    A. Yes, the +10 is figured into the damage calculation portion prior to the step
    where the Darkness Energy would be discarded. (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == HYDRO REVERSE (Team Aqua's Walrein - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Can you use Double Rainbow Energy with Team Aqua's Walrein? If you can, it’s
    good because then you can return it from a benched Poke for 20 more damage
    without having to reduce Walrein's attack damage by ten.
    A. Sorry, but Team Aqua's Walrein's "Hydro Reverse" specifically says that you
    can only return Basic Water energy cards for extra damage. (Mar 11, 2004 PUI
    Rules Team)


    == SLOW-ACTING POISON (Team Aqua's Sharpedo - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua; Team
    Aqua's Carvanha - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua; Team Aqua's Corphish - EX:Team
    Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. "Slow-Acting Poison" says, "At the end of your opponent's next turn, the
    Defending Pokemon is now poisoned". What happens if the opponent switches or
    retreats the Pokemon that was attacked by Slow-Acting Poison?
    A. The effect is tied to the Pokémon that Team Aqua's Sharpedo attacked. It goes
    away if the Pokemon that was attacked goes to the bench, evolves, or otherwise
    leaves play. (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. If a Pokemon has been attacked by "Slow-Acting Poison", can you play a Full
    Heal on it and not be poisoned at the end of your turn?
    A. Full Heal won't have any effect since the Pokemon is not Poisoned yet! Now
    Lum Berry or Miracle Berry would work to cure poison, since it happens in
    between turns after you actually become Poisoned. (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == TARGET SLASH (Zangoose - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. What happens if Sandstorm Zangoose uses his "Target Slash" attack vs. Team
    Aqua's Seviper? 10 damage or 40 damage?
    A. Only 10 damage. "Seviper" and "Team Aqua's Seviper" are not the same thing.
    (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == TEAM PLAY (Team Magma's Zangoose - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Does Team Magma's Zangoose count all the Team Magma pokemon on one side, or
    on both sides?
    A. The "Team Play" attack counts ALL pokemon in play with Team Magma in their
    name. That means both yours and your opponent's. (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ARCHIE / MAXIE (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)
    [CHRISBO NOTE: Archie & Maxie were incorrectly incorporated into the ENERGY
    CARDS section last week. Please move to TRAINER CARDS section instead. Sorry
    for the mix-up.]

    Q. Am I allowed to evolve a Pokemon on the same turn that it was brought into
    play by Archie or Maxie?
    A. No. The Pokemon played by the Trainer is still subject to normal Evolution
    restrictions after it comes into play. (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == LANETTE'S NET SEARCH (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. If I use Lanette's Net Search to find three pokemon one of them being Team
    Magma's Groudon (which is both Dark and Fighting), can I search for a plain Dark
    or plain Fighting pokemon, or does the Groudon count for both of those types?
    A. Dual type Pokemon always count as both of their types. In this case, no, you
    could not get a Fighting or Dark Pokemon if you chose Team Magma's Groudon. (Mar
    11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. If I use Lanette's Net Search to search for a Dual Type Pokemon (like Team
    Magma's Groudon), how many other Pokemon can I also search for, one or two?
    A. Lanette's Net Search allows you to search for up to 3 Basic Pokemon. It
    doesn't matter if they are dual type or not - they just can't share any of the
    same energy types. (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    == STRENGTH CHARM (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. In 2-on-2 Play, if I use an attack that damages both defending Pokemon, would
    Strength Charm do +10 do both of the opponent's Active Pokemon?
    A. Yes, that is correct.


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == AQUA ENERGY / MAGMA ENERGY (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Does Magma Energy or Aqua Energy give the +10 (or +20?) bonus damage that
    normal Darkness Energy provides?
    A. No, only the Darkness Energy special energy card provides the +10 bonus.
    Magma Energy & Aqua Energy just provide the Darkness energy type, nothing extra.
    (Mar 11, 2004 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == STRENGTH CHARM (EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. In 2-on-2 Play, if I use an attack that damages both defending Pokemon, would
    Strength Charm do +10 do both of the opponent's Active Pokemon?
    A. Yes, that is correct.


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page