Marshadow GX and Articuno

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by asdqqq, Dec 19, 2017.

  1. asdqqq

    asdqqq New Member

    My first post, so please tell me if I'm doing something wrong.

    Marshadow GX says: This Pokémon can use the attacks of any Basic Pokémon in your discard pile. (You still need the necessary Energy to use each attack.)

    Articuno says: If your opponent's Pokémon is Knocked Out by damage from an attack of this Pokémon, take 1 more Prize card.

    If Marshadow GX uses Articuno's attack to knock out a pokemon, do you take an extra prize card? I'm guessing no, but the language is ambiguous. Any official rulings that resolve this? Thanks.
     
  2. treyh37

    treyh37 Member

    for future reference official rulings questions should be asked under the "ask the rules team" forum, but this is an easy one to answer, Marshadow GX copies attacks of basics in discard pile, the Articuno you are copying has the attacks Chilling Sigh and Tri Edge, the Articuno text you are quoting is what's known as an ancient trait which is a separate mechanic and wouldn't be copied by Marshadow.

    from the compendium
    Ancient Traits in General
    Q. Are Omega and Alpha effects considered Abilities? Will things that affect Abilities affect them too?
    A. They are neither Attacks nor Abilities. They are something different called "Ancient Traits". Effects that apply to Attacks or Abilities don't apply to Ancient Traits. (Primal Clash FAQ; Feb 5, 2015 TPCi Rules Team)
     
  3. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Right. You are just copying the attack text, not any other attributes or effects from that card, such as Abilities or Ancient Traits.
    So you don't get that bonus effect.
     

Share This Page