Mr. Mime (SM - Team Up 66/181) Scoop-Up Block Clarification

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Otaku, Feb 19, 2019.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Otaku

    Otaku Active Member

    The Ability of Mr. Mime (SM - Team Up 66/181), "Scoop-Up Block" reads as such:

    Ability: Scoop-Up Block
    Your opponent’s Pokémon that have any damage counters on them, and any cards attached to those Pokémon, can’t be put into your opponent’s hand.​

    Specifically, the "...and any cards attached to those Pokémon..." part. What all does this cover? I am taking it at face value, so all Stages of Evolution, attached Energy, Tools, and any oddballs I'm forgetting. A straightforward reading also suggests that this doesn't just stop effects like that of Acerola and Super Scoop Up, but also the "Tear Away" Ability of Weavile (XY - Steam Siege 61/114).

    Ability: Tear Away
    As often as you like during your turn (before your attack), you may put a Pokémon Tool card attached to 1 of your Pokémon into your hand.​

    At least if the Pokémon to which a Tool is attached has at least one damage counter on it. However, I am wondering if I am actually making this more complicated than it needs to be, and the part about attached cards is just there to make sure players know that Acerola (and friends) bounce nothing, not even attached cards, where Scoop-Up Block applies.

    Thank you for your help!
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    I'd say that you're reading it correctly.
    Things like Tear Away would also be blocked.
    Otaku likes this.

Share This Page