Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

New to pokemon - help with mega alakazam ex deck

y05h1eggz

Hello everyone! I just started playing the Pokemon TCG yesterday after wanting to get into it for a while. I finally found local people who played with physical cards. I know this deck isn't too great because we honestly created it from cards he already had in his collection and made it in about thirty minutes. If it's complete trash let me know. But I was just wondering if there were any ways to improve it and make it more competitive.

The problems I know it has is I don't have enough supporters or items that heal, I have a lot of weak Pokemon and I want multiples of some of the better cards, like Alakazam and Lugia. I also know some of these items are slightly useless until I get multiples of the Pokemon. I don't own any cards of my own besides the 60 in this deck. So I was just looking for a bit of advice on how to improve on this deck for now. I just want to know what I should buy. The strategy for this deck seems to be getting as many counters on the other player's Pokemon (active and benched) as possible so when Mega Alakazam EX comes out it basically does a ton of damage (hopefully).

Or any deck suggestions at all are also welcome. I'm wiling to spend up to $175 to create a deck once I know a bit more. Just let me know where to start with this deck so I can try and improve it! Thank you!

MAKESHIFT DECK:

1 x ALAKAZAM EX
1 X MEGA ALAKAZAM EX
1 X LUGIA EX
3 X HOOPA
2 X DRIFLOON
2 X DRIFBLIM
2 X AZELF
2 X CHAOS TOWER
1 X RANDOM RECEIVER
1 X REVIVE
1 X GREAT BALL
1 X POKE BALL
3 X REPEAT BALL
1 X ULTRA BALL
2 X LUCKY HELMET
3 X PROFESSOR'S LETTER
3 X EVOSODA
2 X NINJA BOY
3 X POKEMON FAN CLUB
1 X STEVEN
1 X TIERNO
1 X POKEMON CENTER LADY
2 X OLYMPIA
19 X ENERGY

Last edited: