==Oct.23,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings==

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Big Daddy Snorlax, Oct 24, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    October 23rd 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == PROTECTIVE DUST (Dustox - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. If I have an attack that "places damage counters", is that considered an effect which is blocked by Dustox's "Protective Dust"?
    A. No. Dustox's Protective Dust prevents "all effects of attacks except damage", so "placing damage counters" is not prevented by Protective Dust. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. I have a dark and 2 water Energy on Sharpedo vs. Dustox; if I discard the Dark do I get the bonus damage or is this an "effect" and doesn't count.
    A. The bonus damage is not an effect on Dustox, so it does not get prevented. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == FIRE STREAM (Blaziken - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Do I *have* to discard a fire energy when using Blaziken's "Fire Stream" attack, or is it optional?
    A. It does not say "you may discard...", so it is mandatory in this case. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ANCIENT RUINS (Skyridge)

    Q. Ancient Ruins is clear that its effect of drawing a card can only be triggered if you have not played a Supporter that turn and have none in your hand. However, if after using the effect you now have a Supporter in your hand, can you play it?
    A. Sure. There isn't anything written on the card that prevents you from playing a Supporter if you draw one. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy on a Pokémon that has already evolved normally that turn?
    A. No you cannot, because Rare Candy can only evolve Basic Pokemon. If you evolved a Pokemon already this turn, it would not be a Basic any more. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy to evolve a Baby Pokemon into its next stage? What about the newer forms of babies that are considered "Basic Pokemon" but have the "Baby Evolution" Poke-Power?
    A. Rare Candy states if you have a card that "Evolves From" your Pokemon. There are currently no cards with text saying "evolves from" its baby form, so Rare Candy will not work on any form of baby Pokemon. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. If you use Rare Candy to evolve a pokemon, and the evo card has a "Coming into Play" Pokemon Power (such as Dark Crobat), does that coming into play power get activated?
    A. Using Powers, Attacks, or Trainers to put a Pokemon in the game does not count as "playing the card from your hand" so coming into play Powers will not activate. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == WALLY'S TRAINING (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Can I use Wally's Training on a Pokémon that has already evolved normally that turn?
    A. Yes. Wally's Training can break the rules for normal evolution in that case. It also can allow a player to evolve a Pokémon the first turn it is in play, except for the very first turn of the game (for each player). In order for Wally's Training to break the "first turn of the game" evolution, the card would have to specifically say so. (Sep 26, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Wally's Training to evolve a Baby Pokemon into its next stage? What about the newer forms of babies that are considered "Basic Pokemon" but have the "Baby Evolution" Poke-Power?
    A. Wally's Training states if you have a card that "Evolves From" your Pokemon. There are currently no cards with text saying "evolves from" its baby form, so Wally's Training will not work on any form of baby Pokemon. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. If you use Wally's Training to evolve a pokemon, and the evo card has a "Coming into Play" Pokemon Power (such as Dark Crobat), does that coming into play power get activated?
    A. No, because those powers only work "when you play it from your hand". Wally's Training has you search your deck for the card. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2003
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page