==Oct.30,2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting Rulings==

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Big Daddy Snorlax, Oct 31, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Big Daddy Snorlax

    Big Daddy Snorlax Administrator

    October 30th 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == PROTECTIVE DUST (Dustox - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Would Dustox prevent something like Dusclops' "Judgement" attack that says "the Defending Pokemon is Knocked Out" (if both coins are heads)?
    A. Since the attack is not actually doing any damage, then yes the effect of being KO'd would be prevented. (Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. If I have an attack that "places damage counters", is that considered an effect which is blocked by Dustox's "Protective Dust"?
    A. Yes it is; placing damage counters is NOT the same as damage (doing damage) and would therefore be blocked. (Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS SINCE BEEN OVERRULED; See Above *****
    Q. If I have an attack that "places damage counters", is that considered an effect which is blocked by Dustox's "Protective Dust"?
    A. No. Dustox's Protective Dust prevents "all effects of attacks except damage", so "placing damage counters" is not prevented by Protective Dust. (Oct 23, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    == PURE BODY (Entei - Aquapolis Expansion; Suicune - Aquapolis Expansion; Raikou - Skyridge Expansion)

    Q. Since Rainbow Energy counts as all types, would it also count for Aquapolis Entei's Pure Body?
    A. No, Rainbow Energy, Multi Energy, and Crystal Energy provide non-colorless energy types only when they are in play, not when they are in the process of being attached. So, you can attach Rainbow Energy to Entei, Raikou, and Suicune with "Pure Body" and not have to discard another energy card. (Oct 16, 2003 PUI Rules Team; Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)

    ***** PREVIOUS RULING: THIS ONE HAS SINCE BEEN OVERRULED; See Above *****
    Q. Since Rainbow Energy counts as all types while being attached, would it also count for Aquapolis Entei's Pure Body?
    A. Yes. (Jun 19, 2003 WotC Chat, Q2008)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == SWALLOW (Pelipper - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Considering the wording of Pelipper's "Swallow" attack, does the damage on Pelipper get removed BEFORE or AFTER Claw Fossil's "Jagged Stone" Poke-Body damages Pelipper? Jagged Stone places 1 damage counter on Pelipper as a result of Pelipper's attack, then the text of Swallow says to remove damage counters AFTER the attack (implying that the attack has been completely resolved).
    A. The language used for Swallow is over-specific. The process at the end of the attack: Do damage; next, do the rest of the Attacking Pokemon's effects; lastly, do any of the Defending Pokemon's effects. So in this case, Pelipper's Swallow removes damage counters FIRST (if any), and then Claw Fossil's "Jagged Stone" kicks in afterward. (Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Could you Rare Candy a Pokemon and NOT play an evolution on it just to get rid of the Rare Candy?
    A. No. (Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ENERGY CARDS IN GENERAL

    Q. The Poke-Bodies "Anti-Fire", "Anti-Lightning", and "Water Immunity" (found on the E-card versions of Moltres, Zapdos, and Articuno, respectively) each prohibit a certain type of Energy card (Fire, Lightning, and Water, respectively) from being attached to that Pokemon. The question is, does this prevent attaching Multi Energy, Rainbow Energy, and Crystal Energy (in the case of the latter, there already being one of that Energy to copy) too?
    A. When the Special Energy card is being attached, it is *not* in play. If it is not "in play" yet, it is still considered in your hand. So, yes, you can attach Rainbow Energy to Moltres, Zapdos, etc. (Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == EVOLVING

    * A guiding rule for evolving pokemon.... If it's not in play at the start of that player's turn, it can't be evolved normally. And effects that say "this counts as evolving the Pokemon" count against being able to evolve a Pokemon normally afterward. So, you can use Wally's Training after evolving normally, but you can't use Wally's Training then evolve. (Oct 30, 2003 PUI Rules Team)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page