Professor Kukui Ruling

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Zentrility, Apr 14, 2017.

  1. Zentrility

    Zentrility New Member

    Would the card increase Galvantula's Double Thread attack damage? I'm asking because Parallel City reduces its damage through a card effect, so I think Kukui would also effect its damage too. Does it increase damage on similar attacks too from other Pokémon (where there is no number value next to the attack, but damage is dealt through the effect text)?
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, first thing is to note that Double Thread has had an errata issued:

    If you are not aware, you can find all Pokemon card errata, even old ones, listed in the Compendium.
    Here is a link to the errata section:

    http://compendium.pokegym.net/compendium-bw.html#c2

    Now, regarding your question, since Professor Kukui only adds to damage done to the Active Pokemon and Double Thread, per the errata, only does damage to benched Pokemon then, based on that, Prof Kukui will not add any damage to that attack.

    However, IF the card did not have an errata, and IF you had chosen the Active Pokemon as one of the two Pokemon, then Professor Kukui would have added to the damage done to that Active Pokemon.

    So, your last comment/question would be correct that damage is damage. It doesn't matter if it is from the big number over to the right or from attack text, if it is damage (and not "place damage counters") then effects can add to that damage.
     

Share This Page