Pyroar 20/106 Intimidating Mane vs EX/LevelX

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by strifeX, Mar 13, 2017.

  1. strifeX

    strifeX New Member

    Hi everyone I have a question I couldn't find the answer to. Probably my fault. My question is I have a Pyroar 20/106 (XY Flashfire) which has an ability called "Intimidating Mane" which reads "Prevent all damage done to this Pokémon by attacks from your opponent's basic Pokémon."

    Would something like a charizard ex be considered a basic Pokémon and would not be able to attack pyroar? Or is that considered an ex and not a basic? Would Rayquaza level X be considered a basic and would not be able to attack pyroar? Or is that considered a level x and not a basic?

    Thank you in advance for your help.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2017
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    The Stage that a Pokemon card is considered to be in the TCG is the stage that is printed in the upper or lower left of the picture box.
    Stages in the TCG include: Basic, Stage 1, Stage 2, and also Baby, Mega, and Break.
    There is no stage called "EX".

    Punctuation and capitalization matter in this case.

    Charizard EX is a Basic.
    http://pokegym.net/gallery/displayimage.php?imageid=56932

    Charizard ex is a Stage 2
    http://pokegym.net/gallery/displayimage.php?imageid=35490

    Level X cards are a bit of a special case.
    They retain the Stage of the card that they leveled up from.
    So, in the case of Rayquaza Lv X, that would be a Basic since Rayquaza is a Basic.
     

Share This Page