R&S Chansey ex using Healing Egg

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Prof. Douglas Zuver, Sep 14, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Prof. Douglas Zuver

    Prof. Douglas Zuver New Member

    Chansey ex (Ruby and Sapphire card # 96)

    Healing Egg
    Remove 2 damage counters (1 if there is only 1)
    from each of your Pokemon. Remove no damage
    counters from Chansey ex.

    Double-edge 80
    Chansey ex does 60 damage to itself.

    Things are fine if we only have one Chansey ex on
    the table. Healing Egg heals everyone but the active
    Chansey ex.

    But where there is one Chansey ex, there is bound to
    be another in the deck somewhere.
    And sooner or later somebody will put the hurt Chansey ex
    on the bench, and move a new one out front and use
    Healing Egg. Then their opponent will raise their hand,
    call Doug over and say "Chansey ex can't heal Chansey ex."

    (At that point Doug will roll his eyes and ask for a Lava Cookie)

    Anyway, there are at least two ways to look at this:

    First, that the words Chansey ex is the self referencing rule,
    and it would have been better written as:

    Healing Egg
    Remove 2 damage counters (1 if there is only 1)
    from each of your Pokemon. Remove no damage
    counters from THIS Chansey ex.

    .........................................

    Second, that Chansey ex simply is unsocial and cannot
    heal ANY Chansey ex on the table.

    Thanks,
    Doug
     

Share This Page