Sept 18 2003 Rules Team Meeting

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by PokePop, Oct 18, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    These seem to have not been posted, so here they are. We'll get them into the Compendium ASAP.

    Last edited: Friday, September 19th, 2003
    (Added September 18th Rulings)


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    |
    * September 18th 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ENERGY VARIATION (Kecleon - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. If you use Porygon2's "Energy Converter" Pokémon Power to change a basic Energy card attached to Kecleon to another type, will Kecleon be that type (as well as other types for other basic Energy) for that turn according to the wording on the powers of both Kecleon and Porygon2? (For example, if you change Fire to Darkness, would Kecleon be a Darkness Pokémon until Porygon2's power wears off?)
    A. We're checking with Japan on this one. Play it similar to the old WOTC rulings regarding Porygon2 and Ho-Oh's "Rainbow Burn" for now. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == HEALING EGG (Chansey EX - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Healing Egg says, "Remove 2 counters (1 if there is only 1) from each of your Pokemon; remove no damage counters from Chansey EX." So what happens if you have other Chansey EX's sitting on the bench when this attack is used?
    A. Healing Egg refers to Chansey EX - generally it implies "this Pokemon". In this case, Healing Egg will heal other Chansey ex. It is self-referencing. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == METAL HOOK (Mawile - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. With Mawile's "Metal Hook", do I *have* to switch the opponent's pokemon or not?
    A. Mawile says "....you may switch". You do not have to switch. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)

    Q. If I'm playing a 2 on 2 battle, can I use Mawile's "Metal Hook" attack to deal 20 damage to both defending Pokemon if I switch one with a benched Pokemon? Or does this attack only do 20 damage with or without the switch?
    A. Mawile doesn't gain any further damage powers in 2-on-2 Battle. It does 20 to the Pokemon Mawile attacks, or 20 damage to the newly switched Pokemon. Not both; Mawile's cool, but not bogus. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == STRIKE AND RUN (Dunsparce - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. For Dunsparce, if I choose to switch, does it have to be one of the Pokemon that was on my bench at the time of the attack, or can I switch for one of the new benched Pokemon that I just searched for?
    A. Dunsparce can switch with any of your Benched Pokemon, including those that you placed as a result of the attack. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == TEAM ASSEMBLY (Kabuto & Omanyte - EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Does "Team Assembly" mean that if you use this attack you can put Kabutos and Omanytes on your bench without Mysterious Fossil?
    A. Team Assembly can allow you to put Stage 1 (Kabutos and Omanytes) directly onto your Bench, without needing a Mysterious Fossil. The reason why Team Assembly says "Treat them as Basic Pokemon." is because of cards that de-evolve Evolved Pokemon don't affect these quirky fellows. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == WATER CALL (Swampert - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Is Holo Swampert's Poke-Power 'Water Call' cumulative? i.e. can I use 2 'Water Call's' in the same turn if I have 2 different Swampert's in play?
    A. Yes, each Swampert could use Water Call. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CLAW FOSSIL (EX:Sandstorm) [See also "ROOT FOSSIL" and "MYSTERIOUS FOSSIL"]

    Q. Can cards like Multi Technical Machine 01 or the various Mystery Plates be used by Mystery/Claw/Root Fossil to provide a usable attack?
    A. Mysterious/Claw/Root Fossil states that it "has no attacks of its own" which does not preclude you from giving one to the Fossil which it can attack with. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == MYSTERIOUS FOSSIL (Fossil Expansion; Legendary Collection; EX:Sandstorm) [See also "CLAW FOSSIL" and "ROOT FOSSIL"]

    Q: Can cards like Multi Technical Machine 01 or the various Mystery Plates be used by Mystery/Claw/Root Fossil to provide a usable attack?
    A. Mysterious/Claw/Root Fossil states that it "has no attacks of its own" which does not preclude you from giving one to the Fossil which it can attack with. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == POKEMON REVERSAL (Expedition; EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. The wording on the "Pokemon Reversal" trainer changed significantly between the Expedition version and the EX:Ruby/Sapphire version. How should we play this card? Do we play each one "as written", or should we play them all the way the latest (or older) version of the card says?
    A. In cases such as this, the wording of the card was deliberately changed in the more recent version of the card. In general when playing older versions, you should treat the text as it is written on the most recent printing (in this case the EX:Ruby/Sapphire version). (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == POKENAV (EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. When you play Pokenav if all three cards are trainers, how do you resolve it?
    A. If all three are trainers, then you would show all three to your opponent (to prove there are no pokemon) and then place all three back on top of the deck in any order. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Does Rare Candy override evolution-preventing effects such as Fossil Aerodactyl's "Prehistoric Power"?
    A. You can use Rare Candy when Aerodactyl's Prehistoric Power is in play (except for the first turn of the game). (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)

    Q. I legally evolve a Pokemon in play using either Wally's Training or by playing an evolution card from my hand or using a Pokemon Power. Can I use Rare Candy on that Pokemon to evolve it again that same turn?
    A. We're checking with Japan on this one. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == ROOT FOSSIL (EX:Sandstorm) [See also "CLAW FOSSIL" and "MYSTERIOUS FOSSIL"]

    Q: Can cards like Multi Technical Machine 01 or the various Mystery Plates be used by Mystery/Claw/Root Fossil to provide a usable attack?
    A. Mysterious/Claw/Root Fossil states that it "has no attacks of its own" which does not preclude you from giving one to the Fossil which it can attack with. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == WALLY'S TRAINING (EX:Sandstorm)

    Q. Does Wally's Training override evolution-preventing effects such as Fossil Aerodactyl's "Prehistoric Power"?
    A. You can use Wally's Training when Aerodactyl's Prehistoric Power is in play (except for the first turn of the game). (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)

    Q. I legally evolve a Pokemon in play using either Rare Candy or by playing an evolution card from my hand or using a Pokemon Power. Can I use Wally's Training on that Pokemon to evolve it again that same turn?
    A. We're checking with Japan on this one. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == DARKNESS ENERGY

    Q. The wording on Darkness Energy from the EX:Ruby/Sapphire expansion says, "if the Pokemon Darkness Energy is attached to attacks, the attack does 10 more damage to the Active Pokemon." Does this mean that you get to add +10 even if an attack does no damage at all to the Defending Pokemon (i.e. EX:Sandstorm Murkrow's "Surprise" attack)?
    A. No, it still applies only if there was initial damage to add to. So in other words, you still have to do some damage in order to have "10 more" done. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ATTACKS

    Q. I've noticed that some cards say "Does 10 damage to the Defending Pokémon", whereas others say "Put 1 damage counter on the defending Pokémon". Is there any reason for the different wording? I've spoken to someone who says that you do not apply weakness or resistance for attacks where it specifies Damage Counters; is this the case?
    A. There is a difference. As you mention, weakness and resistance are not applied when placing counters. Also, things like Defender and Metal Energy will not block Placing Damage Counters. It will not trigger things like Base Set Machamp's Strike Back. In the steps of resolving an Attack, "placing Damage Counters" counts as an Effect of the attack, it is not part of "doing damage". (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)


    == STARTING THE GAME

    Q. The WOTC Floor Rules for determining who goes first was a) Flip a coin, b) Winner decides who gets to go first, c) First Player resolves Mulligans, d) Second Player resolves Mulligans. However, the EX-rulebook says "Flip a coin to decide who goes first", and goes on to describe how Mulligans are to be resolved simultaneously. My question is twofold: 1> Does the winner of the coin flip HAVE to go first, or do they have a choice? 2> Should Mulligans now be resolved simultaneously, or is this "just for beginners"?
    A. The rulebook states the winner of the flip goes first, period. However, tournament floor rules have not been announced to address this issue for more competitve play; wait and see. Same thing goes for Mulligans; in casual play you resolve them simultaneously, but in tournament play you must follow the tournament floor rules. (Sep 18, 2003 PUI Rules Team Meeting)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page