Taking deck notes ?

Discussion in 'TCG News & Gossip Discussion' started by FriedBlaziken, Apr 28, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FriedBlaziken

    FriedBlaziken New Member

    Is it illegal to have a printed decklist of your own deck by your side, so that you can tick off the cards that are in your hand or prized, and to find out the chances of getting one card?

    Eg. Ticking off each card as I draw. And ticking off the six prize cards to know whats left in the deck.
     
  2. KaMewie

    KaMewie New Member

    It's allowed as far as i know.
     
  3. WinkWinkNudgeNudge

    WinkWinkNudgeNudge New Member

    Notes

    This is the official rule from 2007-2008 Pokémon Organized Play Tournament Rules
    Rules effective: 9/01/2007.

    While making the tick marks does refer to changes in the game state, I'm not sure that the deck list itself does. However, as your opponent I would be more than happy to see a copy of your desk list since I can review it at any time.
     
  4. FriedBlaziken

    FriedBlaziken New Member

    Oh so they can look at my list while im crossing each card out as I draw?
     
  5. WinkWinkNudgeNudge

    WinkWinkNudgeNudge New Member

    Any time they want.
     
  6. Krucifier

    Krucifier New Member

    If you don't want your opponent seeing your notes, they can't force you to show them.
     
  7. Tego

    Tego New Member

    But the OFFICIAL rules document quoted right in THIS topic just said that they have to. :rolleyes:
     
  8. FriedBlaziken

    FriedBlaziken New Member

    what if they don't know about the rules? would not telling them be considered cheating?
     
  9. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    yep a DQ offense even..
     
  10. Krucifier

    Krucifier New Member

    Sorry. My bad...:redface:
     
  11. Dueling_Prodigy

    Dueling_Prodigy New Member

    Would it be illegal if you took your notes in a special code so that your opponent couldn't read what you wrote?
     
  12. If my interprtaion of the rules are correct....

    I dont think so

    What is in your hand should be unknown to the game state, so no, crossing it off a list..... you cant cross it off a list

    Even if you are able to it would be a bad idea since oppt can read notes... crossing off things off list sounds like notes...

    So think about this.... You draw a warp point, during your next turn you plan on useing it to win the game... your oppt. turn... they draw... they look at ur notes.... "O you just drew warp point last turn, i think ill wager you"

    Or think about this.... you have your deck list right there.... they look at it... they see Dusknoir.... They are going to say- "You play Dusknoir! I think ill keep my bench size down to 3"

    Now this one should be a big reason why it is no.... Even though you shoudnt YOU CAN LIE!... You draw a card.... you need warp point or plus power next turn but dont have it... so you cross out warp point/pluspower.... they say "O you just drew warp point/plus power last turn, i think ill wager you".... you then get the card off the wager and say "Thank You"....

    So what you are asking i belive is a no.... Im pritty sure someone like 'Pop or 'Mom can confirm it is a no and give a better reason why it is what it is.


    Yes it would

    Local Language only- No Code, No Forign Language, No Ancient Egyption Hyrogliphics

    Well that last one might be ok if you have a time machine to take you back to Ancient Egypt :lol::lol::lol:
     
  13. SteveP

    SteveP Active Member

    If they can't read your code, you'll need to provide a translation: :LOL:
     
  14. ShadowCard

    ShadowCard Active Member

    Could lying or taking false notes fall under the "use of dubious actions that cause your opponent to misplay" rule?

    Could be a problem if someone taking notes falsely checks off "opponent used energy attachment from hand" and uses it against the opponent when the opponent didn't actually do it.
     
  15. Mew*

    Mew* Active Member

    I am under the impression that in order to take notes, you need to start with a blank sheet of paper. And besides, having a copy of your decklist would be so n00bish.
     
  16. Lawman

    Lawman Active Member

    The simple answer is no. You can take notes of play actions during that rd only. Your oppo. can look at your notes at any time. You cannot refuse them that right.

    Keith
     
  17. Skitty

    Skitty New Member

    It says:

    I'm pretty sure that the exact card you drew has nothing to do with the game state. I think wrighting something like "I drew a card" would be legal but drawing a specific card doesn't have to do with the game state.
     
  18. SteveP

    SteveP Active Member

    I've come across players that take notes so they can put a good tournament report on the PokeGym. In the past, POP has given out notebooks to players. I don't see a problem with marking off cards you've drawn, though I personally don't see the point. Plus, it could be deemed a stalling tactic in certain situations.

    Also, if my opponent started writing on a piece of paper that already had lots of writing/printing on it, I'd insist upon reading it myself.

    If something critical is prized, you generally don't want your opponent to know that. Notes like the one you suggest would facilitate your opponent in gaining too much knowledge.
     
  19. FriedBlaziken

    FriedBlaziken New Member

    well then ill have to remember everything.
     
  20. SteveP

    SteveP Active Member

    hone those memory skills. :biggrin:

    Technically, players who keep game notes so they can make a good tournament report aren't really following the "taking notes" guideline. What has this got to do with tracking game state? "My opponent is playing GG."

    So, I guess if we wanted to get strict with note taking, we'd be irritating all those who take notes and do good tourney reports. :frown:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page