Team Aqua & Magma energy cards

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by pkmnmstr14, Mar 11, 2004.

  1. pkmnmstr14

    pkmnmstr14 New Member

    I looked at the team aqua & magma energy cards and the team aqua energy card is worded as
    " Aqua energy provides :water: and :darkness: energy but provides 2 energy at a time. " and the team Magma energy says " Magma energy provides :fighting: and/or :darkness: energy but provides 2 energy at a time. " I wanted to know if you should play it as it says or play as how???
     
  2. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    you get two units of energy.

    you get to decide upon the type of each of the two units of energy.


    So for AQUA ENERGY you can have WW or WD, or DD
    similarly for MAGMA ENERGY you can have :fighting: :fighting: or :fighting: D, or DD
     
  3. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    I'm curious as to how you see these as giving different results, other than the difference between Fighting and Water, that is.
    They are just different ways of saying the same thing.
    Odd that the cards were templated differently since they are in the same set.
     
  4. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    It looks more like evidence of translation rather than templating :(

    any chance of a :water: , :darkness: and :metal: emoticons??
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2004
  5. SteveP

    SteveP Active Member

    I think pkmnmstr is trying to point out the difference between "and" on the aqua card and "and/or" on the magma card. The "and" could mean it MUST provide both types, that is Water and Dark, and NOT 2 of one kind.

    FYI, here's the Japanese version of these two cards. IMO, it's pretty clear that there's a choice:

     
  6. pkmnmstr14

    pkmnmstr14 New Member

    Sorry i didn't explane i mean the aqua says " water AND darkness " and the Magma says " :fighting: AND/OR darkness " so does that mean that we play aqua as ONLY 1 water and 1 darkess and we play magma as any combination of :fighting: and darkness?
     
  7. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    I guess I'm not seeing that limitation.
    Compare it to Rainbow. It provides Water AND Darkness (and a bunch of other colors) but only one energy.

    The AND refers to colors provided, not quantity of each.
     

Share This Page