Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

TheRing killed ourselves. Andceo Worlds Report

andceo

Welcome to the Andceo Pokèmon TCG 2008 Worlds report!
After most of you know, this is the first time I made Worlds.
I have been playing for 4 years without any 1st place, but at the end I did it.

Just a month after Nats, when my university exams were finished, I started to work with my TheSeconds team to build up a rogue deck in order to counter the most expected deck: Plox, Empoleon, but also MagLeaf and possibly Torterra and BanBliss.

The first decks were pretty bad, but then my brother showed me a strange Gengar-Bronzong variant.
I thought the deck was just a joke, but we kept him tested and I saw it had potential.
After some depth tests and some talking with the group, Kenta and me decided that a new deck was born, and its name was THE-RING, because:
- After a Claydol, a Gardevoir or other Pokè-Powered Pokèmon are played, they are gonna die in some turns because of Bronzong
- The deck is full of ghosts
- When Gengar uses his 2nd attack, he made a ring going up and down the field.
- Try to rotate Bronzong of 180°

I have been sad all the season because while I have always played very nice counters (2005 Medicham, 2006 JynxFett and 2007 GrumpigStall) I ended up winning Nats with a pretty simple deck (MagKiss).
When this new deck came out, I decided I was going to play that, no matter what would have happened.
This deck had all the things I like more: Cursed Stone (Bronzong) and attack and switch (Gengar), ad my old GrumpigStall.

At first, the deck seemed to have a good match-up versus Plox and 50-50 vs EmpoZong.
But as time passed, we discovered that playing in the correct way the 2 decks could have brought them to the win.
For that reason, we tested all the day for 1 months and at the end we found out some solid ways to beat them.
A 1/0/1 Ampharos line was needed to better the Empoleon match-up and pass to 65-35.