Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Thinking, playing, etc. like a champion.

I'm a good player who, like most players, wants to become a great player. So I ask you humble folks at PokeBeach this: what is it exactly that makes champion level players tick? How exactly do they build their decks, play their games, and think out their moves that they manage to win (or place well) in so many tournaments? I've been playing for 10+ years and gotten stuck in a rut recently - only gotten 3-3, 3-2, 2-3 in recent tournaments.

So, how do Nationals- and Worlds-level players manage to do what they do?

- Croatian_Nidoking

I'm not pro player but I do decently well at tournaments. For me, playing with cards I like works well for me. You should play a deck you like and make it the best you can. Another thing I do is try to not overextend. I dont play cards I dont need to. For example. If I can not play a supporter, I wont. You dont need to play a supporter every turn. If your hand is okay to the point you can make at least one good play, then hold on to it. Also think your plays through. I take all the time I need to make my plays. If my opponent tells me to hurry up, I just tell them to let me play my game. Still be as fast as you can be but dont let your opponents rush you.

The other thing I hate to say is pick a good deck type. I want to see the game grow and become healthy but the only decks TPC seem to care about is are aggro decks. Pick the one you like and tech the heck out of it. For me, I like to build techs into my deck, not just have them there so I can still play a matchup well with the techs. Also know your deck. If a card does not work well for you, reduce its numbers or just cut it all together. Because a Darkrai deck plays for example a heavy Absol or Yveltal EX line, does not mean you have to if it does not work for you. Some cards dont need to be auto 4 ofs. Perhaps find what you dont play much and replace them with something else.