Unown N

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Loser626, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. Loser626

    Loser626 New Member

    Okay, here's a strange question that I'd like a ruling on. It is regarding how the Power reads.

    Unown N's NOD power reads:

    Once during your turn (before you attack), if you have Unown N, Unown O, and Unown D on your bench, you may ask your opponent to take a prize card. If he or she does, you take a prize card. If he or she doesn't, draw a card.

    Now, say that both players have one prize card left. Player A uses the power. Player B picks up a prize. Does the game end right there with player B as the winner since s/he is first to draw all prize cards or does it go into sudden death. I am not quite sure on where to time the prize check on this one.

    Thanks,
    Loser
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Pokemon is a game of instantaneous actions. While there is an order to them, they are considered to be happening at the same "game time" and so the win condition is not checked for until the effect has completed.
    The second prize draw gets to happen before checking for win states.
     

Share This Page