Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

When's a good age to start Pokemon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JuarezSuperStar

Hi,
I'm new to pokemon as my youngest son has taken quite a bit of interest in it. We've heard of a pokemon league near where we live and he really wishes to be a part of it. My daughter's friend had informed us of the league but he's also told us that if my son joined he'd be the youngest member there by a few years. He's 7 years old.

I'm not sure if it'd be a good idea to let my son join. I'd be more willing if his older brother or sister were willing to stay with him. I've never met the league leader or whoever runs the place. Please, help me on this decision.

Last edited:
We have quite a few younger members at our league. maybe you should try coming in with your son and meet the league leader first, so you know what kind of person you are dealing with. Or you could start playing with him! Kids always love to see their parents get involved in the game, and it's great for bonding!

I second secretsof2113's advice. Go to the league and meet the leader. We have a really good league leader (Shout out to Mr. Meeches!) My son is 6 and we've been going to the League for about 3 months. He loves it! Half the time he just watches other kids play, and often he wants to trade. I'm still hesitant to do much trading. I've started playing too so I can get a better sense of how the cards work and how valuable they are.

BTW, check for your leage on the Pokemon League forum here: http://pokegym.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=50. You might find posts from one of the league leaders so you can start communicating before you even get to the league.

Good luck,
Jeff

Antoher thing that's on my mind about leagues and OP. We've seen the ads in the rulebook that came in a themedeck. Does my son need a "My pokemon" account to play at these things? I don't know everything, so I want the both of us to be prepaired.