==> Compendium Updates for May 22nd, 2008

Discussion in 'Compendium Updates' started by PokePop, May 31, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Last edited: Thursday, May 22nd, 2008
    (Added May 22nd Rulings)

    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    This edition of the Rulings Compendium includes:

    |
    |
    |
    * DP05: Majestic Dawn FAQ --
    * May 22nd, 2008 PUI Rules Team Meeting -- (*) --


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ERRATA
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    META-RULINGS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON POWERS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == AQUA SKIN (Manaphy - DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. If I use Manaphy's "Fountain" attack, could I trigger "Aqua Skin" on a
    Benched Manaphy?
    A. Yes. The Water Energy cards are coming from your hand, which is the trigger
    for Aqua Skin. If you attach 2 Water Energy cards that way, you would remove 4
    damage counters from the Benched Manaphy. (DP:Majestic Dawn FAQ; May 22, 2008
    PUI Rules Team)


    == MOONLIGHT VEIL (Umbreon - DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. Does the Pokemon have to have Eevee beneath it in order to receive the
    benefits from Espeon's "Sunlight Veil" or Umbreon's "Moonlight Veil"
    Poke-BODIES?
    A. No. Let's say you brought in an Umbreon using Garchomp Lv.X's "Restore"
    attack— it's still a Pokemon that “Evolves from Eevee,” even though it didn't
    evolve that way to get into play. (DP:Majestic Dawn FAQ; May 22, 2008 PUI Rules
    Team)


    == PRIMAL SHELL (Kabutops - DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. Does Kabutops' "Primal Shell" Poke-BODY prevent playing Fossils?
    A. Yes. Fossil cards are still Trainer cards and would be prevented from being
    played. (DP:Majestic Dawn FAQ; May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


    == PRIMAL SWIRL (Omastar - DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. What happens if I use Omastar's "Primal Swirl" Poke-POWER and my opponent has
    an Evolved Pokemon Lv.X in play?
    A. The Pokemon Lv.X is returned to the hand as well (Pokemon Lv.X keep the
    evolution state of the original - Darkrai Lv.X is still considered a Pokemon
    that isn't Evolved). (DP:Majestic Dawn FAQ; May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


    == SUNLIGHT VEIL (Espeon - DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. Does the Pokemon have to have Eevee beneath it in order to receive the
    benefits from Espeon's "Sunlight Veil" or Umbreon's "Moonlight Veil"
    Poke-BODIES?
    A. No. Let's say you brought in an Umbreon using Garchomp Lv.X's "Restore"
    attack— it's still a Pokemon that “Evolves from Eevee,” even though it didn't
    evolve that way to get into play. (DP:Majestic Dawn FAQ; May 22, 2008 PUI Rules
    Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ATTACKS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == RAGING THUNDER (Zapdos - DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. Can I direct the bench damage from Zapdos' "Raging Thunder" attack to my Old
    Amber and have it prevented by Old Amber's "Hard Amber" Poke-BODY?
    A. Sure, that will work. (May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    POKEMON ITEMS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == ADAMANT ORB (Dialga - DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. If I level up a Pokemon that has an Item on it (like Dialga's "Adamant Orb"
    or Palkia's "Lustrous Orb"), does the Lv.X Pokemon also get to take advantage of
    that item?
    A. Yes, items must still be used when a Pokemon levels up. (May 22, 2008 PUI
    Rules Team)


    == LUSTROUS ORB (Palkia - DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. If I level up a Pokemon that has an Item on it (like Dialga's "Adamant Orb"
    or Palkia's "Lustrous Orb"), does the Lv.X Pokemon also get to take advantage of
    that item?
    A. Yes, items must still be used when a Pokemon levels up. (May 22, 2008 PUI
    Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRAINER CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    * FOSSILS IN GENERAL
    == DOME FOSSIL (DP:Majestic Dawn)
    == HELIX FOSSIL (DP:Majestic Dawn)
    == OLD AMBER (DP:Majestic Dawn)
    == MYSTERIOUS FOSSIL (Fossil Expansion; Legendary Collection; EX:Sandstorm;
    EX:power Keepers; EX:Holon Phantoms; EX:Legend Maker; Others)

    * A Pokemon that evolves from "Dome Fossil", "Helix Fossil", or "Old Amber"
    cannot evolve from "Mysterious Fossil". Likewise, a Pokemon that evolves from
    "Mysterious Fossil" cannot evolve from "Dome Fossil", "Helix Fossil", or "Old
    Amber". (May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


    == FOSSIL EXCAVATOR (DP:Mysterious Treasures; DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. Can I use Fossil Excavator to retrieve Old Amber or Aerodactyl?
    A. No, because Old Amber does not contain the word "Fossil" in its name, and an
    Aerodactyl that evolves from Old Amber cannot be retrieved by Fossil Excavator
    either. But you can still retrieve an Aerodactyl that evolves from "Mysterious
    Fossil". (May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


    == OLD AMBER (DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. Can I play Old Amber as a Basic Pokemon during setup, like we do with other
    Fossil cards?
    A. Old Amber is considered part of the fossil group in general, but not as a
    Fossil by name. So you may play it as a Basic Pokemon during setup, and you
    must play it if you have no other Basic Pokemon or other Fossil cards in your
    hand. (May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use Fossil Excavator to retrieve Old Amber or Aerodactyl?
    A. No, because Old Amber does not contain the word "Fossil" in its name, and an
    Aerodactyl that evolves from Old Amber cannot be retrieved by Fossil Excavator
    either. But you can still retrieve an Aerodactyl that evolves from "Mysterious
    Fossil". (May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I direct the bench damage from Zapdos' "Raging Thunder" attack to my Old
    Amber and have it prevented by Old Amber's "Hard Amber" Poke-BODY?
    A. Sure, that will work. (May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


    == RARE CANDY (EX:Sandstorm; EX:Emerald; EX:Holon Phantoms; DP:Great Encounters;
    POP Series 5; others)

    Q. Can I use Rare Candy to evolve from Helix Fossil to one of the Kabutops from
    older expansions that evolve from Mysterious Fossil?
    A. Since Kabutops can evolve from Kabuto of any expansion, you may use Rare
    Candy to evolve either Helix Fossil or Mysterious Fossil into any Kabutops,
    regardless of expansion. (May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    ENERGY CARDS
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------

    == CALL ENERGY (DP:Majestic Dawn)

    Q. Call Energy card says "Once during your turn..." Can I use this while my
    Active Pokemon is attacking?
    A. No. Once you start your attack, that's all you're doing for the turn. It's
    not something that can be interrupted, and after the attack is over your turn is
    over as well. (DP:Majestic Dawn FAQ; May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. Can I use "Call Energy" if my Pokemon is affected by a Special Condition or
    anything else that would normally prevent it from attacking?
    A. Yes, you can use Call Energy even if you are unable to attack. Call Energy
    is not considered an attack, Poke-POWER, Poke-BODY, etc. and is not stopped by
    effects that prevent those things. (May 22, 2008 PUI Rules Team)


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    GENERAL GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TWO ON TWO GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TEAM GAMEPLAY
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------
    TRADING FIGURE GAME
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------


    xxxxxxxxx1xxxxxxxxx2xxxxxxxxx3xxxxxxxxx4xxxxxxxxx5xxxxxxxxx6xxxxxxxxx7xxxxxxxxx8
     

Share This Page