"Counts as evolving" Attacks

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by ninetales1234, Aug 24, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. ninetales1234

    ninetales1234 <a href="http://pokegym.net/gallery/browseimages.p

    http://pokegym.net/forums/showthread.php?t=58603
    It seems that an evolved Pokemon cannot use an attack from its basic form (through Meteor Falls, Memory Berry, etc.) if that attack calls for that Pokemon to evolve (and what Pokemon to evolve into.

    Here's the text of the attack, for those who don't know:
    [WWW] Rapid Evolution - Search your deck for an Evolution card named Gyarados or Dark Gyarados and put it on Magikarp. (This counts as evolving Magikarp.) Shuffle your deck afterward.

    The person asking the question in the thread mentioned above, seemed to be thinking of the self-reference rule, so that you would have to “Search your deck for an Evolution card named Gyarados or Dark Gyarados and put it on” Gyarados/Dark Gyarados.

    It seems that you can’t evolve Gyarados/Dark Gyarados into Gyarados/Dark Gyarados because the card doesn’t have “evolves from Gyarados/Dark Gyarados” on it. So, my question is, how is this ruling valid, when Abra can use an attack to evolve into Alakazam, when it clearly does not have “evolves from Abra” on it?

    If Gyarados can't evolve into Gyarados, Abra shouldn't be allowed to evolve into Alakazam.
     
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Rare Candy has worked fine for 4 years with the same mechanic.
    Same thing for Pokemon Breeder for 9 years.

    As long as the chain is valid, it's fine. You can skip a link in the chain, but it has to be a valid chain.
     
  3. stalkerex

    stalkerex New Member

    Well it cant evolve into itself so problem solved.
     

Share This Page