Energy Draw

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Ancient Pokemon Trainer, Sep 4, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Can you Energy Draw for 0? It says UP to, but I would imagine you have to draw at least 1 card. Also, can you Energy Draw with 0 cards in your deck (or any other draw/search card)?
     
  2. mtjimmer

    mtjimmer Master Trainer, Emeritus

    == ENERGY DRAW (Delcatty - EX:Ruby/Sapphire)

    Q. Delcatty's "Energy Draw" Poké-POWER states: "Once during your turn (before your attack), you may discard 1 energy card from your hand. Then draw up to 3 cards from your deck." Can you discard the energy and not draw because it states "draw UP TO 3 cards"?
    A. No. If you discard an Energy card, you must draw at least 1 card from your deck. If you don't have any cards left in your deck, you can't use this power. When a card says "draw up to X cards", it addresses a range of 1 to X. (Jul 19, 2007 PUI Rules Team)

    Q. When using Delcatty's "Energy Draw" power (or ANY card that lets you draw cards and says 'up to'), must you declare how many you are going to draw first, or can you draw one card to see if it's the one you need, and if not draw another, and another, etc.?
    A. Technically speaking you must declare how many cards you are going to draw before you draw them. If you do not announce, then you must take the maximum number allowable, no less. (Aug 12, 2004 PUI Rules Team)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page