eriknance

Author: Erik Nance
Deck: Varied
Tournament: Fall 2010 Battle Roads
Format: MD-on

Asheville, North Carolina Battle Roads

I went with Luxchomp...

:fighting::fire:Round 1 - vs. Zach B. (tarheel_bivens) with Machamp/Infernape 4

For this specific tournament, I went over my deck options very carefully, and when Zach flips over an Infernape 4 as we started, I knew that I had made a good choice. I could have played Steelix (and really wanted to), but I had a feeling I would see some fire Pokemon played. I suppose this is something I've developed after 5 years of experience -- a keen intuition. As I'm congratulating myself for realizing this, I'm soon baffled when Zach plays a Pokemon Communication and shuffles in a Machoke to grab an Uxie. All his deck was missing was a Palkia Lv.X tech in case I decided to play Charizard, haha.

So Zach gets a psychological jump on me with his interesting deck choice, but I still have some answers for the Machamp matchup (most noteably Uxie Lv.X and Shuppet/Banette from PL). Zach's a great guy, and he had an awesome deck for this tournament, so I felt bad for how this game played out. Basically, Zach has trouble running into some fighting energy, even though he was able to get his Machamps up and running. By the time he's ready to start hitting, I have an Uxie Lv.X ready to get the OHKO (as well as a Banette on bench). Time is called, then we get our three turns and I'm able to tie the game up with an E-belted Banette. Zach levels up Machamp, swings with Hurrican Punch, and only hits one heads, leaving Banette with 20 HP and the chance to take the last prize. Good game Zach, tough luck on that last move.

1-0

:dark::colorless::fire::psychic:Round 2 - vs. Devin (?) with Sablelock/Blaziken FB/Mewtwo Lv.X