Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

From 1-2 to Finals - My German Nationals Report

Freezer

Hi everyone! For those who don’t know me, my name is Dennis Seebuerger and I’m from Hanover, which is in the northern part of Germany. I’m 20 years old and I study economics. I’ve been playing the game since 2000 and I still love the game as much as I did in the early years of Pokemon. That being said, let’s move on to the main topic of this article: this year’s Nationals!

Finding the Deck

Everything started when Dark Explorers released. After a miserable beginning of the tournament season I at least wanted to do well at Nationals. Furthermore, I had already booked my flight to Hawaii so I really needed an invite. I tested a lot of things (Darkrai/Zoroark/Weavile, Empoleon/Terrakion, Eels, Troll, Sableye/Darkrai, etc) and I figured there is a ton of work that has to be done before Nationals because the format seemed to be completely redefined by all the darkness stuff.