Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

Have I Lost My Mind

jazee

New PokeDad trying to determine if I've gone way overboard on the card spending. Being an Analyst I of course read everything I could about deckbuilding, used the pokepedia site to look up cards with certain criteria (high HP, high average attack) and examined the attacks of some of the cards, read many posts about what people are playing/winning with. My kids (or my wife) bought a few sets and many booster packs over time and I got to looking at these and quickly realized it will take forever to amass a card collection of all the top cards this way since you have no idea what you are getting in the booster packs. However I see the surprise a big appeal to small kids though.

So I of course go to E-bay. Now as a side business/hobby I am a 6-year Powerseller on Ebay that buys and sells collectibles typically ranging in the price range of $400-$4000 each. I'm not totally loaded or anything but, I sell low qty of high price stuff, the exact opposite of Pokemon card sellers which sell high quantities of low priced stuff. I also consider my time is money, especially considering my billable hourly rate for my consulting business. But I hate to waste money, even buying $2-$20 Pokemon cards.

My problem is I'm impatient. I can setup group snipes on all kinds of cards, but I found it much quicker and easier to just find the lowest Buy-it-Now price on whatever I wanted and then buy a bunch of stuff from the same person who only charges $0.25 extra per auction won for shipping. I've seen that on some of the more expensive cards (Lv.X's) I could have got the card for about 20-30% cheaper if I just was patient and bid on a few auctions, but then that takes time to keep looking for new auctions and setup the snipe. We're talking 20-30% on a $18 card, that's $3.60-$5.40 savings, and that's an expensive card. One thing I was happy to discover was the way to go is buy the DP promo Lv.X's for cheap.