Magmortar lvl X ruling

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by Giovanni of Team Rocket, Sep 17, 2007.

8 league13 468 60
  1. The cards second attack reads

    Flame Buster -Discard 2 fire energy attached to Magmortar: Choose of your opponent's Pokemon. This attack does 100 damage to that pokemon. (don't apply weakness and resistance for Benched Pokemon) During your next turn Magmortar can't use Flame Buster.

    What I am wondering is with the text at the bottom saying it cannot use the attack next turn, if you warp point/switch then bring it up, are you able to use Flame Buster again?
  2. doctormcdreamy

    doctormcdreamy New Member

    yes. you can use flame bluster against b/c if magmortar hits the bench then the effect of it not using that attack again goes away.
  3. Burninating_Torchic

    Burninating_Torchic New Member

    Uh... I don't think so.
    I don't know what the official ruling is, but in the past, if that's the case, the parenthetical text "Benching _____ ends this effect." would be put in the attack text if that was the case.
    I'm pretty sure that Benching doesn't cancel the effect. Removing from play and replaying (Though this is impossible in the case of a Lv.X) would do it, but Benching doesn't.
  4. Lawman

    Lawman Active Member

    The effect goes away when Mag is benched. Therefore, if switched out and then returned to active, it could attack the next turn.

  5. Burninating_Torchic

    Burninating_Torchic New Member

    Is there an example of this ruling in the current compendium?
    That just doesn't seem correct to me.
  6. Phazon Elite

    Phazon Elite New Member


    Also, it's right.
  7. Dark_Fyre

    Dark_Fyre New Member

    its right BThoy
    it doesnt say benching ends the effect of agility either, but we know that works
    benching ends it
  8. Bobby

    Bobby New Member

    Benching removes all effects of attacks on that pokemon.

    If I get heads with Agility and then get sent to the bench, I become vulnerable again.
  9. Dark_Fyre

    Dark_Fyre New Member

    you are always vulnerable bobby
    people just need the right words to say :lol:

    ao, is the ruling clear now?
  10. Nope there isn't a ruling in the current compendium that is why I brought the question to the forums.
  11. paint panic

    paint panic New Member

    The relevant rule is actually in the rulebook - to quote, "When your Active Pokemon goes to the bench...some things about it go away - Special Conditions (Asleep, Burned, Confused, Paralyzed, and Poisoned) and anything else other than damage that might be the result of an attack some Pokemon made earlier."
  12. Phazon Elite

    Phazon Elite New Member

    I cannot believe I didn't think of checking the rulebook. lol
  13. Regis_Neo

    Regis_Neo Moderator

    I direct you to this from the Compendium:

    == AQUA SLASH (Team Aqua's Sharpedo - EX:Team Magma/Team Aqua)

    Q. Team Aqua's Sharpedo's "Aqua Slash" attack states that Team Aqua's Sharpedo can't attack next turn. But if I retreat to a new Pokémon and then come back with him can I attack again with Aqua Slash?
    A. Effects like this go away when the active goes to the bench. So if Team Aqua's Sharpedo goes to the bench and becomes active once again, he can then use Aqua Slash on that turn. (Apr 8, 2004 PUI Rules Team)

    Same basic idea/concept I think. Granted, the above scenario is slightly different, but still the same principle idea of attack effects being removed if you retreat to the bench and then send them up again.
  14. The Phenom1993

    The Phenom1993 New Member

    whenever your pokemon gets on the bench any effects he had go away!
  15. Flareon

    Flareon New Member

    Same as the question Rainbowgym asked about Unknown E. They are removing this kind of text.
  16. Tagrineth

    Tagrineth New Member

    The parenthetical text is just a reminder, much like (Ignore weakness and resistance for benched pokemon.) It reminds you about a game rule.

Share This Page