Octillery's Suction Cups

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by unown1, Feb 1, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. unown1

    unown1 New Member

    This situation happened to me recently, but while we were playing we let it go as the card stated.

    Octillery's Suction Cups state: As long as Octillery is you active pokemon, whenever the defending pokemon retreats,discard all energy cards attached to the defending pokemon when it goes to the bench.

    (allow me to use Wailord ex for THIS example, just to make it obvious) Anyways, If the defending pokemon is a Wailord ex with only 2 energies, can it retreat if Octillery is my active?

    I know a pokemon can't retreat unless it fulfills the retreat cost, but octillery makes it pretty clear they only have to discard the energy cards attached. So my question is, would it REALLY be able to retreat?
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    No, you have to pay the discard cost of the retreat FIRST. Then, when you have successfully retreated, you have to discard any energy cards that are left.

    Note that is says "whenever the defending Pokemon retreats", not "in order for the defending Pokemon to retreat".

    It does not substitute for the retreat cost. It is in addition to it.
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2004
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page