Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

# of rounds at US nats?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pidgeotto Trainer

So last year there were 9 rounds, but I heard a rumor that POP is going to do pods in order to keep the number of rounds to about 7. Can anyone confirm or deny?

I'm sure that Mike Liesik posted something about the timing for USA nationals some weeks (months?) ago

I remember a post that stated that it's unreasonable to do a single round (start to start) in less than an hour. I don't think that PUI wants to do another 9 hour day...

I think it is just normal swiss. I dont think they could justify pods at nationals. I mean I am sure they could try but I just dont think it would work for players who "want" to play more rounds so they can hope to get a rating invite. I do believe tho Masters will end up getting a T32 cut instead of 16 based on the number of players.
Drew

I have no inside knowledge so this is my take.

The tournament operating guidelines this year have been updated to include something called flights. Why would this be done? Because it is planned on being used.

With let's say 500 Masters in the event, I would predict 2 or 3 flights with seven rounds each.

Additional supporting info is that JR and SR may not use the same game clock as the Masters. My guess is that it is going to take longer to flight and pair 500 masters whereas the JRs and SRs will go straight as is with 7 rounds.

Steve

I don't know, either...

Here's what it says on the op website:

What is the tournament structure?
The tournament is run using the Modified (DX-on) Format and Swiss plus Single Elimination.

The National Championships will be broken into sections by age divisions and will be run using Swiss Pairings. Because Swiss rounds are dependent upon total attendance of each age group, there will be a minimum of five rounds of Swiss, with more rounds as necessary based on attendance. Swiss rounds will feature one-game matches.