Old Base Alakazam Question

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by mariuspnx2, Aug 8, 2003.

8 league13 468 60
  1. mariuspnx2

    mariuspnx2 New Member

    this has been burning in my mind for years and I thought now is the perfect time to ask. We all know Base Alakazam's Damage Swap power "As often as you like...". But remember the fossil Tentacool's power "Cowardice" saying that you may return Tentacool to your hand after discarding everything attached to it? Since you are allowed to put down a Chansey after scooping it up, and you would be allowed to keep Damage Swapping even after doing so, here's the question: Would you be allowed to place 2 damage counters on Tentacool, use Cowardice, put it back down, and create an endless cycle of damage recycling?
  2. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 Active Member

    No, you'll notice that Cowardice is worded in a way that prevents the power from being used more than once per turn.

    From the oracle:

    Pokémon Power: Cowardice At any time during your turn (before your attack), you may return Tentacool to your hand. (Discard all cards attached to Tentacool.) This power can’t be used the turn you put Tentacool into play or if Tentacool is Asleep, Confused, or Paralyzed.

Share This Page