Pokémon TCG: Sword and Shield—Brilliant Stars

the doc's sucky nats report

doctormcdreamy

do you like reading sucky tournament reports from people who are terrible at pokemon? well you're in luck.

went 6-3 because i'm not smart in pokemon. and i'm just a stupid noob who is only playing the game for 4 months. oh I also got bottlenecked. That's really the overwhelming reason why. So many good players got squeezed out by bad players.

i thought long and hard about what deck i wanted to play. i think i made the right metagame analysis and thought that bandoom is the right deck to play. the whole thing is a crapshoot to begin with. and there could be a secret deck coming and i know bandoom has great donking potential and has a great suckout factor. so bandoom is good enough to win the whole thing. all i gotta do is donk and flip heads. oh and make the most consistent bandoom list possible. which i think i did.

so i pay my 70 bucks onsite to play. so let's play.

round 1 - Jeff Simmerman - one of the best players in Louisiana - playing Electinite.

I got this. That's what I thought. I'm a favorite. So I begin OHKOing. Then all of sudden he started playing slower as time passed. I was worrying about this ending on time. And I just felt pressured. So I make a misplay. And I lose the game. He played perfectly and I didnt. You practice and practice. Playtest and playtest. Know every single modified card frontwards and backwards. Study matchups over and over again. and I blow my chances for top cuts in my first game. I lost to a really good guy but this blows.

Oh and I got to meet his daughter. So yeah. wow. some of you people know what i'm talking about.

0-1

round 2- Lauri Hess - lady from San Diego, CA. - playing Flygon Eeveelutions

Her deck is good. But I have an average draw and average flips. Therefore I win. She's also another great person to talk to. I play the game to meet interesting people and make connections. Winning is secondary. But I win anyways.

1-1