VA States Report- Top 4

Discussion in 'State/Province/Territory Championships' started by Ascension, Mar 12, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Ascension

    Ascension New Member

    Okay, I wasn't planning to write a report, but I'm bored right now so I will write one.

    So, I was skipping a soccer game to go this tourney. I got there about 30 minutes before registration was supposed to begin. Of course, it had already began. I decide to play GG (Yeah, Yeah i know) Nothing really interesting happens except when Tim checks my deck and realizes that DREs and Windstorms are actually his causing him to think about DQing me :lol:. I play a few practice games and let the tourney begin.

    Round 1 vs. Forgot name (Holon Castform.dec)

    Ok. So all he gets is a Holon Castform and thats it. I Bring Down T3 or T4 FTW.


    Round 2 vs. Forgot name (Magmortor.dec)

    Okay, so it was pretty close game going back and forth. He had chance to Flame Blaster (the 100 damage attack) to my benched Gardy with damage for the KO, but didn't so late game, a Gallade, Psychic Cut a Magmortor for the KO. I had actually Sonic Bladed the Magmortor before and accidentally left 60 HP. I later was about to attack and noticed that. I got a Warning and we fixed the damage. And I won.


    Round 3 vs. Forgot name (Darkrai/Exploud/???.dec)

    T2 Gallade plus weakness is GG.


    Round 4 vs. Jacob (GG.dec)

    Okay, so I get a T3 Gallade against his Absol and say "Psychic Cut". Now before the tournament, they said all players must announce how many prizes they must flip. I took this as if you are not flipping any then you don't need to say 0. But a judge is called and I flip all my prizes. However, I make a close game and it goes to time. He wagers my Gardevoir in my hand which would have been FTW, so he wins.


    Round 5 vs. Forgot name (Empoleon.dec)

    Okay, so Cess Crystal was my nemisis this game, but a crucial play came when I used Windstorm to get rid of two Cess Crystals. I also topdecked a Scramble and later won the game.


    Round 6 vs. Alexander (Magmortor.dec)

    So this was make or break. Alexander has beaten in every Premier event this year so I needed my revenge at this very moment and.... I got it, quick setup with Gardevoir and I won.


    I make it in as 3rd Seed.

    T8 vs. Patrick (Magmortor.dec)

    Game 1: After what seemed like a long match, he beats me and I have no steam to catch up.

    Game 2: I Psychic Lock and next turn, he uses Cosmic Power, earning me a Warning and him a Game Loss.

    Game 3: I get a quick setup and I win.

    T4 vs. Arron or Erin, I don't know how to spell his name (GG.dec)

    Game 1: I got served...:nonono:

    Game 2: See game 1 and T2 Gallade.

    I get fourth and some pretty bad packs. No trophy. :(

    Girl Scouts for selling good cookies
    Whoever provided the free tea at the back
    Me getting T4
    Spencer getting second
    Dean getting first
    Steven getting third

    Tim's memory...:nonono:
    Missing T8 for Alexander and Seth
    Tanner and Helen for going 3-3
    No trophy for 4th (if no trophy, then play-off)

    See ya!
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2008
  2. Jaeger

    Jaeger New Member

    Concrats Dude.
  3. Ascension

    Ascension New Member

    "Concrats" Never heard that one before. Thanks!
  4. Lucario EX

    Lucario EX Moderator<br>Fanfic Contest Host

    Hey, I was playing against stupid fire decks when my stupid 1-1 tech was in my stupid prizes.
  5. Ascension

    Ascension New Member

    Maybe we shouldn't put out prize cards? JK Nice job at Maryland, though. Could you PM a list of your deck? It is going into our vault of decks that I started.
  6. DarthPika

    DarthPika New Member

    That was Patrick you Played in t8, not Philip. ; )
  7. Ascension

    Ascension New Member

    My bad, thanks. Edited.
  8. totoro

    totoro Active Member

    So many could say that there are miles of Miles :lol:
  9. Ascension

    Ascension New Member

  10. ShadowCard

    ShadowCard Active Member

    Theft is listed as an example of unsporting conduct :tongue:

    The problem wasn't that you didn't announce the amount of prizes to be flipped, it was that you didn't say the damage being dealt. So, unspecified prize flipping + unspecified damage = max flip + max damage possible.

    I wonder if that's why he wasn't at league the day after ...

    I want my DREs back :mad:

    You started? You stole the idea from me :mad:
  11. Ascension

    Ascension New Member

    What are you talking about? I started the Team HAT Deck vault, or is that about something else. DREs future owner, forecast cloudy.
  12. ShadowCard

    ShadowCard Active Member

    Straw Hat = Metal Fatigue :biggrin:
  13. Ascension

    Ascension New Member

  14. Fox McCloud

    Fox McCloud New Member

    Nice report, and gj on T4.:thumb:
  15. totoro

    totoro Active Member

    Did you appeal your PC to the HJ?? The intent was that if you BEGAN to flip prizes w/out giving a number, you had to flip all prizes. Just annoucing the attack shouldn't have committed you to the flips.
  16. DarthPika

    DarthPika New Member

    The judges were kinda picky about how you did stuff.

    I got a caution because I said Psychic Lock, knock out for a Gardevori with 90 damage on it, and didn't say how much dmg my attack did.... :rolleyes:
  17. SuperWooper

    SuperWooper New Member

    Nice job bud. T4 ain't bad at all.

    Throw a PM my way if you need any help for Regionals (also, don't forget that I still have a Pachi of yours ;x).
  18. Ascension

    Ascension New Member

    No, I was like, "Whatever..." I said Psychic Cut and I assumed that since I wasn't flipping any prizes, I don't have to say how many prizes I was flipping. So I said, "Psychic Cut," and took a prize as he was putting Absol in the discard. Then, he called a judge (no hard feelings, Jacob :thumb:) and I flipped my prizes because I 1) didn't announce the prizes and 2) did not say how much damage I was yeah.

    Fox McCloud- Thanks.

    DarthPika- Naughty, naughty... :lol:

    SuperWooper- Thanks! Gatr lives, huh? I will keep in touch. :thumb:
  19. ShadowCard

    ShadowCard Active Member

    I thought it should have been a Warning but totoro wanted to go easy on you all. j/k.

    But seriously, it keeps an easily corrected situation that warrents no more than a caution from turning into a prize card penalty. A judge needs to be able to tell what the game state is when walking by. A judge can't evaluate what "for KO" means and often times the opponent doesn't know what it is either except for a potentially large number which the attacking player thinks is sufficient. When you say "for 40 damage", a judge walking by can quickly check math and look for conditions either player may have forgotten. When you announce the damage, your opponent can confirm it and also check for any other effects that you may have forgotten, like a Buffer Piece. That way, two turns later, a judge doesn't have to come fix the game. If you weren't cautioned in that game, then you would have taken that habit to the next game and continued until it became a problem.

    I have a 14-year-old at league who always asks "for how much damage?" whenever someone attacks and started this some weeks before people got picky about what "for KO" means. That's when I also realized that it isn't very SotG to not tell your opponent how much damage your attack is doing.
  20. DarthPika

    DarthPika New Member

    But anyone who plays the game can easily tell that Psychic Lock done to a Gardevoir that already has 90 dmg on it with a Lake Boundary in play is a ko...

Share This Page