What Do You think Would Happen Here? (Theoretical Question)

Discussion in 'Cards: Strategy and Rulings Discussion' started by toxictaipan, Apr 28, 2008.

8 league13 468 60
  1. toxictaipan

    toxictaipan New Member

    Now just to warn you, this question is completely theoretical, but I would really like to know!


    Say I'm in an Unlimited Tournament 5 years from now. (You can see where this is going :lol:)

    I have a Gardevoir SW in my deck.

    (Here we go, HOLD ON!!!!)

    I also have a future Pokemon with a Poke-Power Called Telepass, but the Power has a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT effect, but it DOESNT have the text, "You can only use 1 Telepass Poke-Power per turn."

    Now I use Gardevoirs Telepass Poke-Power, and we all know you can use only 1 Telepass Poke-Power a turn. But since this future Pokemon was printed after it, and Its Poke-Power says something completely different, and doesn't have the that text. Would the text, "You can only use 1 Telepass Poke-Power per turn," on Gardevoir come into effect??


    What do you think!?!?

    Just a funny little question that I would really like to see answered,
    toxictaipan
     
  2. mrdraz07

    mrdraz07 New Member

    You could refer to the Heal Dance power dealie a couple seasons ago...I believe there was a Gardevoir and a Bellossom that both had a Heal Dance power, and you could only use 1 Heal Dance a turn. It refers to the name of the power not the Pokemon using it.
     
  3. yoshi1001

    yoshi1001 New Member

    Hush, you're giving them ideas!

    Actually, something similar happened in reverse when two different names were used for the same energy retrieval card (anyone remember what it was called?).
     
  4. toxictaipan

    toxictaipan New Member

    But the Problem is completely different here. These Powers are completely different. Neither say the same thing, and one is missing the, "Only 1 per turn," text. Only the name is the same...
     
  5. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    But... they wouldn't do that.
    They know what cards they have made in the past.
     
  6. SPARTA

    SPARTA New Member

    If they make a power with the same name, they give it the same effect.
     
  7. NoPoke

    NoPoke New Member

    There would be a long discussion about it on the PokeGym.

    Good to know that both pokemon and the 'gym are still going strong in 5 years time. :D
     
  8. Magic_Umbreon

    Magic_Umbreon Researching Tower Scientist, Retired

    Energy Charge was mistranslated as Power Charge. I think power and energy are the same term in Japanese. I think Power Keepers as a set name could/should have been Energy Keepers. After all, there's Gardy/Blaziken/Delcatty etc.

    So you can have 4 power charge and 4 energy charge together IIRC.
     
  9. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Well, that was the WotC ruling on it. WotC was very big on "play as printed"
    I don't think PUI would look at it the same way. PUI aims for "play as intended"
     
  10. Absoltrainer

    Absoltrainer Active Member

    so how did that fair for error Dark Persion?


    *Evolves Meowth.*

    I have no HP and thus die!

    or

    I have no HP and thus cannot lose HP and cannot die.
     
  11. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    I said "very big", I didn't say "maniacal".
    They made exceptions for cards that were "unplayable as printed"
     
  12. Muscovy Level X

    Muscovy Level X New Member

    If you used Gardy's first, the other Pokemon couldn't use their's.
     
  13. Alazor

    Alazor Active Member

    "Energy Charge was mistranslated as Power Charge. I think power and energy are the same term in Japanese. I think Power Keepers as a set name could/should have been Energy Keepers. After all, there's Gardy/Blaziken/Delcatty etc."

    There is also Night Maintenance and Nightly Garbage Run (Team Rocket).
     
  14. Nu Gundam

    Nu Gundam New Member

    Well, not exactly since Nightly Garbage Run is a "Rocket's Secret Machine", therefore you can discard it for TRR Dark Slowking's Litter attack.
     

Share This Page