Which energies with Swampert EX?

Discussion in 'Ask the Rules Team' started by Mr. Grass, Apr 25, 2004.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Mr. Grass

    Mr. Grass New Member

    At the PA State Championships we had an issue arise with Swampert EX. Swampert EX has an attack that does 20 damage plus 20 more damage for "each basic energy attached" but not used to pay for the attack cost. I ruled that Boost Energy would not increase the attack damage because colorless is not a basic energy type. But as I got to thinking I grew unsure. Since the attack says "basic energy" and not "basic energy card" I wondered if cards like Rainbow and Multi would count towards the extra damage. And if those do, would Metal and Darkness energies work too? And did I make the right ruling in the first place with the Boost Energy? Why else would it say "basic energy" if it wasn't to stop special energies?
     

Share This Page