Update to Ban List for Pokemon TCG – Two Cards Added for Expanded


Pokemon has released their quarterly update to the ban list and two cards were added. Players were expected Lusamine to be on this list, due to the possibility for infinite recursions, but it is not to be for now, at least.

No cards are banned in Standard format, but Maxie’s Hidden Ball Trick and the “DAMAGE” Unown (LOT 90/214) were added to the ban list for Expanded.

Pokemon explains their banning as follows:

A Fighting-type Pokémon in the upcoming Sun & Moon—Team Up expansion would create a potentially devastating combo with Maxie’s Hidden Ball Trick that can be achieved on the first turn of the game. Rather than wait and see how this turns out, it was determined that the best course of action was to prevent this combo before it happened.

With multiple combos that exist in the Expanded format, the DAMAGE Ability of Unown could be used to win the game on the first or second turn. Even though these combos haven’t yet proven to be successful in tournament play, they will become easier to achieve with the release of new cards, so Unown is being banned as a preventive measure. Note that Unown with the HAND Ability and Unown with the MISSING Ability, also from Sun & Moon—Lost Thunder, are still legal for tournament play.

Here is the complete list of banned cards in Expanded:


The announcement is found here: https://www.pokemon.com/us/sun-moon-team-up-banned-list-and-rule-changes-quarterly-announcement/

The Banned List is found here: https://www.pokemon.com/us/pokemon-tcg-banned-card-list/

Pokemon TCG SM: Team Up FAQs

The FAQs for SM: Team Up have been released. They are available on the Pokemon Professor forum, but for those of you that don’t have access, we are posting them here as well. I have attached the pdf version to this article, but they are also posted below.
Enjoy and play safe!

Sun & Moon—Team Up FAQ

Sun & Moon—Team Up – FAQ


== DANCE OF THE ANCIENTS (Tapu Koko {*} – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If I have Tapu Koko {*} and only one other Pokémon on the bench, can I use “Dance of the Ancients” to put 2 {L} Energy on that one other Benched Pokémon?
A. No, in this case, you can put only one {L} Energy on that Benched Pokémon. The second {L} Energy would have to go onto Tapu Koko {*}, but then gets discarded immediately anyway when Tapu Koko {*} goes to the Lost Zone.

Q. If I only have one {L} Energy in my discard pile, can I use Tapu Koko {*}’s “Dance of the Ancients” Ability to put it on one of my Benched Pokémon?
A. Yes, you would do as much as you can.

== DARK AMBITION (Absol – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. Does the extra Retreat cost placed by Absol’s “Dark Ambition” Ability increase the damage done by Absol’s “Shadow Seeker” attack?
A. Yes it does.

== NINE TEMPTATIONS (Ninetales – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. Can I use Ninetales’ “Nine Temptations” Ability if my opponent has no benched Pokémon?
A. Yes, you can discard 2 {R} Energy cards from your hand, and that’s it.

== ROARING RESOLVE (Charizard – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If I use Charizard’s “Roaring Resolve” Ability with only 10hp left, does he get KO’d when I place the 2 damage counters before or after I search & attach 2 {R} Energy cards?
A. You must finish all the text of the Ability before checking for knockouts, so yes you would search your deck and attach {R} Energy cards before KO’ing Charizard.


== COPYCAT (Mimikyu – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. When I use Mimikyu’s “Copycat” attack, do I need to have the same required energy as the opponent’s previous attack?
A. No, you only need whatever energy is required on Mimikyu in order to use its Copycat attack. However, if the attack requires you to do something with a particular type of energy you don’t have, you cannot use that part of the copied attack.

== DEVILISH HANDS GX (Hoopa GX – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. When using Hoopa GX’s “Devilish Hands GX” attack, can I keep choosing a Pokémon that would already be Knocked Out by previous choices, or do I have to choose a different Pokémon once I have done enough damage to KO the first one?
A. You make all 6 choices before doing any damage; so if you wish, you can do more damage than you need to a Pokémon in order to knock it out.

== DRAG OFF (Nidoking – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If my opponent has no benched Pokémon, do I do 50 damage to their active Pokémon when I use Nidoking’s “Drag Off” attack?
A. No. Damage is only done to the “new Active Pokémon”. If there is no switch, then no damage is done.

== HEAD HUNT (Zangoose – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. When I use Zangoose’s “Head Hunt” attack, do I have to put all Pokémon I find into my hand, or can I choose to discard some or all of them?
A. Since you get to choose which Pokémon to reveal, you can choose to discard some or all of them.

== SHADOW SEEKER (Absol – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. Does the extra Retreat cost placed by Absol’s “Dark Ambition” Ability increase the damage done by Absol’s “Shadow Seeker” attack?
A. Yes it does.

== THUNDEROUS ASSAULT (Zapdos – Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If my opponent Knocks Out my Active Pokémon and I promote my Zapdos to be Active after the attack, do I get the bonus 70 damage for “Thunderous Assault”?
A. No. In this scenario, you promoted the Zapdos while it was still your opponent’s turn. In order to get Thunderous Assault’s additional damage, it would have to become Active during YOUR turn.


== INGO & EMMET (Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. When using Ingo & Emmet, if I choose to draw 5 cards from the bottom or my deck, what happens to the top card that I looked at?
A. You put it back on top before you draw the 5 cards from the bottom.

== JUDGE WHISTLE (Sun & Moon—Team Up)

Q. If I use Judge Whistle and choose to put a “Judge” card from my discard pile into my hand, can I put a “Judge Whistle” into my hand?
A. No, that choice only allows you to put a card named “Judge” into your hand; it does not allow you to get a card “with Judge in its name”.


Q. Can I choose to play Unidentified Fossil as one of my starting Pokémon?
A. No, you cannot. It’s considered a Trainer while in your hand, so it doesn’t count as a Basic Pokémon during setup. (Feb 8, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)

Q. If an opponent KO’s my Unidentified Fossil do they get to take a prize?
A. Yes, that’s part of being treated as if it were a “Basic Pokémon”. Your opponent takes a prize when Unidentified Fossil is knocked out, but not if you discard it from play. (Feb 8, 2018 TPCi Rules Team)

PokePopCast 24: Blacephalon GX and Tiebreaker Games


In this PopCast, we cover a number of difficult rulings on the new card from Lost Thunder, Blacephalon GX, and also an important update to rules on Tiebreaker games.
Can you discard Rainbow Energy or Beast Energy for Mind-Blown?
If you do, do you get the bonus damage from Beast Energy?
Does using Burst GX count as taking a Prize Card?
And what’s up with these Tiebreaker Games now?
Does that mean we got rid of ties? (Spoiler: No!)



SM: Lost Thunder – FAQ

Lost Thunder Prereleases are getting under way, with some locations running Friday night (midnight) events.
Pokemon should be sending emails out to those Tournament Organizers with the FAQs for the set, but for those organizers not seeing it in their emails, and for judges who are not on the mailing list, attached below is a pdf with the rulings.
It’s not as pretty as the one Pokemon will send out, but it’s got all the rulings and will save you some color ink.

SM08 Lost Thunder FAQ

For your convenience, we have also listed the rulings directly below.
Enjoy your events everyone!


== ALMIGHTY EVOLUTION (Ditto {*} – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Can you evolve Ditto {*} into a Stage 1 Pokemon and then on a later turn place a new, different Stage 1 Pokemon onto it?
A. No, not unless you have devolved Ditto {*} somehow during a previous turn.

Q. If I have placed a Stage 1 Pokemon onto Ditto {*}, can I later evolve that into the corresponding Stage 2 Pokemon?
A. Yes, you can!

== CHARMED CHARM (Tapu Lele – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Can you choose to not Confuse your opponent’s active Pokemon if you attach Fairy Charm to a Tapu Lele that has the “Charmed Charm” Ability?
A. Yes, it is optional.

== FLORAL PATH TO THE SKY (Skiploom – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. What happens if I use Skiploom’s “Floral Path to the Sky” Ability but fail to find a Jumpluff in my deck?
A. Skiploom stays in play, and since you searched your deck the ability is used up for the turn.

Q. What happens to any damage counters on Skiploom when it uses its “Floral Path to the Sky” Ability? Do they go on the Jumpluff that takes Skiploom’s place?
A. Any damage counters on Skiploom are removed when it goes to the Lost Zone; they do not transfer to the Jumpluff that takes its place. Special conditions are not transferred to the new Jumpluff either.

== GET LOST (Tyranitar GX – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. If you Knock Out a Pokemon using one of Tyranitar GX’s attacks, do you get to take a prize card if the Pokemon is sent to the Lost Zone due to Tyranitar GX’s “Get Lost” Ability?
A. Yes, you do. It is still Knocked Out.


== BREEZE AWAY GX (Virizion GX – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Can I scoop up Virizion GX as part of its own “Breeze Away GX” attack?
A. Yes, you can.

== EYE OPENER (Poipole – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. When I look at my face-down Prize cards with Poipole’s “Eye Opener” attack, do I have to put them back in the same order?
A. Yes, you only get to look at them, you don’t get to rearrange them.

== LOST PURGE GX (Lugia GX – SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Does using Lugia GX’s “Lost Purge GX” attack count as KO’ing a Pokemon?
A. No, it does not. You are moving the opponent’s Active Pokemon and all cards attached to the Lost Zone, and since it does not count as a KO you don’t get to take any prizes for it.


== KAHILI (SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Can I play Kahili if there’s only one card left in my deck?
A. If you can draw at least 1 card from your deck, you can use Kahili and do the coin flip part. But if you can’t draw any cards, you can’t use it.

== LUSAMINE {*} (SM:Lost Thunder)

Q. Is there any way to clear the effect of Lusamine {*}?
A. No, however any attacks that ignore effects on the Defending Pokemon would get through its effect.

PokePopCast 23: How Pokemon TCG Rulings are Made

On this episode of the PopCast, we answer some viewer questions that were collected from Facebook forums. Basically we discuss how Team Compendium got started, how it joined the Pokemon Rules Team, and how official Pokemon TCG Rulings are collected and published for the use of Organizers, Judges, and Players. Enjoy!

PokePopCast 22: Kim Cary and Steps to Being a Better Judge

Thanks to the Organizer of the Philadelphia Regionals, Vince Krekeler, for letting Kim and I take a break at the end of the event to record this video. Kim was a Judge Mentor for the JR and SR divisions at the event and I was the Judge Lead. It was a great event, well run as usual by Vince and Denise. There are a number of “cameos” in the background as event staff pass by. See who you can recognize!


PokePopCast 21: 2018 Pokemon Worlds Head Judge – Next Level Judging

I was able to sit down with Richard Walkoski, AKA Big Daddy Snorlax, the Judge Lead for the Pokemon World Championships and discuss high level judging concepts. It’s a pleasure to share some time with Rich and let a lot of people get to hear him since he doesn’t spend a lot of time of Social Media. Please excuse the noise and commotion in the background.
They were taking apart the World Championship as we sat and talked.
Take a look and enjoy.

Updates to the Standard and Expanded Legal Card Lists for the new 2019 Season

It’s always a major update when the format rotates!
We have gone through the Expanded and Standard Legal Cards lists and updated them to reflect the set rotations and recent bannings in Expanded.
We hope that players and tournament staff find them useful for the new year!
And of course, if you find any errors (who me, make errors?), please alert up either in the associated topic or on the Gym’s facebook page so that we can correct them.

The links will always be available on the right hand side of the PokGym main page, but for your convenience, here they are:

Current Expanded Legal Card List

Current Standard Legal Card List

Volunteer applications for Brazil IC close August 26!

Professor Oaks Ponder
Professor Oaks Ponder: Wrestling? Maybe use Machamp.

As announced on the Copag page via translation on Facebook:

???? attention teachers! ????

Applications – Latin America International Championship is an American professional wrestling pay – per – view event.

The deadline for registration is until August 26

Good luck everyone!

Continue reading “Volunteer applications for Brazil IC close August 26!”