2nd, 4-1, and a very angry player

Discussion in 'Battle Roads' started by Dual_Draw, Jun 13, 2009.

8 league13 468 60
  1. Dual_Draw

    Dual_Draw New Member

    I'm playing Blaziken, w/Heatran, Cherrim and Nidoqueen (Useless if you have no spread in your area, Play Champ or Dusknoir over it). And stuff.

    Round 1: New Player.
    I T1 Blaze, and do stuff, the game ends shortly after. GG

    Round 2: New Player.
    I'm playing down...And it's basically the same game, I end it by doing 140 damage to his lone Wurmple. GG

    Round 3: Arceus999 Ape/Ray
    Before the game, we're joking around and I say "If I get a Cherubi start, I can almost guarantee you win". And guess what, =P. But it's all good, I top decked Call, got Torchic and Baltoy, had Dol in hand. He didn't get energy for the first 3 turns, so that shifted the match in my favor, he was wary of benching Luxray GL as well due to Blaziken GE. I had already planned out that I wouldn't bother with Heatran, instead go straight to Rayquaza, that didn't exactly pay off, as I only gotten 3 energy from about 7 Speed Gains, while he passed 2/3 of his Burn Checks XD. To end the game, I use Warp, he can either bring up Dialga G and get 210'd, or Bronzong and get 90'd. He makes a miscalculation and forgets that I have Cherrim, I OHKO for the game. GG

    Round 4: Giratina/GG
    I get a beautiful set up, getting 2 Blaziken (One of each), Cherrim, Heatran X and Dol out by T4. I'm just picking off the benched Dols and Kirlias. GG

    So I have to play the GG in Top 2, it's an easy enough matchup, assuming I can get a PL Blaziken.

    Top 2 Round 1:
    Guess what, luck loves me today. Both Platinum Blaziken are prized, no problem right? No Heatran X, oh well, I can manage. But wait, AZELF IS PRIZED........................... Midway through the game, he discards his supporter, I call over the Judge and he gets a "Caution". Amazingly I bring the game to 1-1, using only GE Blazikens and Rayquaza. He ends up winning though. GG

    Top 2 Round 2:
    I basically have 11 minutes to take 4+ prizes or yeah. My prizes aren't trash, and i get a set up much like I did in Round 4, minus the Cherrim but with Nidoqueen. My turns are taking 45 seconds, while his are taking 2+ minutes, I call over the Judge and ask him to watch, because my opponent his shuffling his deck a lot (Telepass, Luxury, Bebe's in one turn), and his shuffling would take about 15-20 seconds. After two turns, I slide a Rare Candy onto the field, from my hand, calling out "Rare Candy", enough for anybody even remotely close to be able to see it, and discard it, evolving my Torchic to Blaziken. The judge gives me a warning, not a caution like something that would have affected game 1 (See bolded part) and I just say that my opponent has been doing that all day (Which he has), and the judge says, well I didn't see it, which I'm fine with. But as I call my attack he pulls a written warning out of no where for me saying my opponent had been discarding Rare Candy's all day and after that, we have about 4 minutes left, and he leaves, and the other player basically slows down even more. I take two prizes, but I can't do much else. And time is called. GG, not for the judge.

    Props
    -4/0
    -Blaziken
    -Yoshi, and Shadow Guard and whoever came up with that wonderful list
    -Arceus999
    -Team B
    -Lucario-Master

    Slops
    -Judge on the day.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  2. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    Caution for the discard of a Supporter before the end of the turn seems right to me.
    Been the correct penalty for 4 years now.

    Don't understand what you're talking about with the Rare Candy.
    What was wrong about how it was played?
     
  3. Dual_Draw

    Dual_Draw New Member

    Okay, thanks for clearing that up, it was that in contrast with the candy is what messed me up, all I had done was played it quickly, but long enough so my opponent knew, discarded it and evolve Torchic to Blaziken. After that I received a warning, which led to my written warning.
     
  4. PokePop

    PokePop Administrator

    I still don't get the issue.
    The Rare Candy is in the discard pile. If a player didn't understand what happened, it's right there to see.
    I've never seen a player penalized for playing a Rare Candy "quickly".
    Am I missing something here?

    Just a suggestion, but if your first game was doomed from the first turn, you might have conceeded it sooner to give yourself more time for game two.
     
  5. homeofmew

    homeofmew Active Member

    note: you can get a caution for discarding your supporter.

    The Rare candy thing....
    I mean he didn't see it? He should have been sitting there the whole time.
    Or watching it, well it is T2.
    You got a Warning it isn't like it effect the fact you won/lost the battle ie Prize Penalty/Game Loss/DQ

    But yeah people miss things and don't see everything.
     
  6. Dual_Draw

    Dual_Draw New Member

    No, the player had no problem with it, the judge just gave me a warning. I'll give some tournament feedback, thanks.
     
  7. Lucario-Master

    Lucario-Master New Member

    from what i've seen if you play a supporter to the discard it ends yuor turn. Good job anyway.
     
  8. ApachePrime

    ApachePrime New Member

    You've seen wrong. Any judge that forces this decision is dead wrong. This assumption is silly. The supporter is in the discard, and your opponent should be paying attention to whether or not you played a supporter.

    Much like Pokepop, I don't see the problem with teh candy. As long as you declare, it's been explained. We don't have both sides of the issue, but the judge should've also given you an extension for taking more than a reasonable amount of time to make a decision.
     
  9. LOLZ

    LOLZ Member

    Hey, Where did you get your degree as a Rules Lawyer? :nonono:
     
  10. TheGeneral

    TheGeneral Active Member

    I may be out of it, but how did you go 4-0 & get second place? Doesn't make sense to me.
     
  11. TOYBOX

    TOYBOX New Member

    He went undefeated in swiss and lost in top cut.
     
  12. TheGeneral

    TheGeneral Active Member

    So wouldnt the record be 4-1?
     
  13. TOYBOX

    TOYBOX New Member

    Yes, it would be. I suppose he just didn't feel like including 4-1 in his title.

    Read the report if you're having issues?
     
  14. tehmoe

    tehmoe New Member

    i kinda lold at reading this. so b/c ou didnt call out the candy you got a warning. what if you were a mute and played pokemon would he expect you to "call out" your candy? he should have seen the play and put the pieces together that you candied. however him discarding the supporter is a big deal, i play at league and i run into this a lot and kids will get confused on whether they played a supporter or not this turn. so that was good a call and if he has been doing it all day he should have been penalized for it or something. b/c that can lead to conclusion that he was playing two supporters a turn without the use of poke power.
     
  15. Dual_Draw

    Dual_Draw New Member

    I did call "Rare Candy, Torchic". So that wasn't the problem.

    And yeah fixed the 4-0 thing, got out of my poor attitude and realized my opponent played a good game.

    Also as do why I didn't scoop in game 1, our TO (The Judge) is always reminding us to always play the game out and never to scoop, or that too results in a warning.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  16. Viva piñata

    Viva piñata Active Member

    wow scooping is a a must in certain top cut matches i mean it saves time and what not lol i would not want to play in one of your tournys if the jugde hands out warning for scooping lol thats just not right ??
     
  17. toxictaipan

    toxictaipan New Member

    Someone who knows what they're talking about, correct me if I'm 100% dead wrong... But don't you have a right to concede your match if you want to?
     
  18. TheGeneral

    TheGeneral Active Member

    Uhh, I DID, and that's my issue. I was wondering why it was 4-0 when he lost, got it?
     
  19. astewart

    astewart New Member

    Ok, from what i understand, you put the rare candy from your hand into the discard while anouncing the card. Sure i do that to speed things up, even my opponents do, but i so think that a written Warning was WAY to much.
     
  20. Rap Tor

    Rap Tor New Member

    your TO is a noob sorry, most of the time it is safer to scoop if u don't think u can make the come back as people stall

    and also, rare candy is a trainer and goes from hand to discard i think it says in the rules
     

Share This Page